The spring that was…

Up until this week, we had a few amazing days that reminded me of summer.  I know it’s spring, May in Portland, but still.  As it does every year.  I thought we were having a summer-like spring, and yes we did.  But now it’s a lot more wet.

DSC_0006-small

The rain came, and it hasn’t left.  Even with our thermostat set at 61 F, the heater has come on many times, and we are bringing the wool blankets and thick sweaters back out again.  I should have known it was too soon to speak.  But still… it is spring in Portland.

I got my camera out and clicked away.  Before the rain washed the stems, the petals, the colors away and watered the soil more than we probably need.

DSC_0009-small

But it’s nature, and we are lucky to have it mild.  I welcome it as it comes. It gives me few more days of enjoying my warm slippers, my sweater and wool blankets.  And I got few pictures while the flowers were standing pretty.

DSC_0007-small DSC_0008-smallAnd I think we’ll have more coming up soon, too.

DSC_0011-small DSC_0013-small DSC_0863-smallAnd more and bigger of these too of course.

DSC_0862-small

DSC_0169-small

DSC_0168-smallI know we’ll have more of this type of landscape as well…

DSC_0170-smallOh… and more of this too!  I made a strawberry-rhubarb syrup and have it in the freezer.  We enjoyed this new recipe for few weeks, while we had sunshine and there’s lots of rhubarb growing.  I found the recipe on Pinterest.  Strawberry Rhubarb Margarita  I made it something like this recipe. Perfect for hot weather!

DSC_0167-small DSC_0175-small DSC_0178-small DSC_0176-small

No hurry on my part.  It was just a teaser I know, and a great break to get us outside.  I’ll wait for the rest of it.  No problem.  I know it’s coming.

Leave a Reply

