in the kitchen

DSC_0020 copy

I guess this one is not quite in the kitchen yet. Mark is getting the beans off the plants and shelling them to store for later.  This year, He and Siena planted lots of beans.  We have so many green beans, and dried beans.  I think it’s going to be good.

DSC_0001 2 copy

I also dried 20 pounds of pears for winter snacking.

DSC_0004 copy DSC_00133 copyThey looks so pretty once dried against the light.  Doesn’t it?

DSC_00136 copy

I also dried plums.

DSC_00131 copy

Some delicious onces some friends gave us.  So good.

DSC_00130 copy DSC_0014 copy

A neighbor down the street has a beautiful, big Lemon Verbena plant.  She’s had it for years, and it grows so healthy and so big every year.  Last year I asked her if I could have some leaves, because  found a recipe for a simple syrup.  It was delicate flavor and it was good.  So this year I asked her for few more leaves, and she came back with her trimmings getting the plant ready for the winter.  Oh thank you, thank you!  I am ready for some syrup making but also for lots of tea.

DSC_0013 2 copyGrapes are my favorite fruit I think.  I guess, I love other fruits too, but I can have grapes any time, I think.  Sometimes I feel like oranges, or watermelon, or an apple.  But grapes are always good, I think.  Some from the store, some from friends.

DSC_0089 copyThe beginning of a meal. Home grown elephant garlic, and some good hot peppers.

DSC_20 copy

I feel lucky to have some of the neighbors we have.  These beautiful, delicious figs come from another neighbor who has two fig trees.  This is the first time I’ve really ad them fresh, and I think I’m in love with them.  They are so sweet, so delicate.

DSC_21 copy DSC_22 copy

I’ve received two big bags of them, as present.

DSC_23 copy

I even had enough to make some jam.

DSC_0025 copy

Another new recipe for this summer, and it is so good.

DSC_0027 copy

Especially with warm, homemade bread.  The first loaves of the season. The oven can be turned on once again.  Everyone is happy here at home.

DSC_0085 copy DSC_0086 copyI love the colors and textures showing in our pantry.

2 thoughts on “in the kitchen

  1. Glendie September 23, 2015 / 8:12 am

    Such bounty! The dried pears look like stained glass in the photos you took, with the light!

Leave a Reply

