in the kitchen

There’s been some making, but seems less than last year.  I think it’s because of the heat this summer, it was too hot to be inside making anything.  So we did lots of picnics, sandwiches, and easy, fast meals.

Maybe I haven’t taken as many pictures as I did last summer, not having Heather’s reminders to do the kitchen-making blog hop.  But here are a few of the makings in the kitchen the last few weeks.

Plum jammin’.

DSC_0073 copy DSC_0076 copy DSC_0077 copy DSC_0074 copySo good.  We’ve already had some and shared them with our friends who had the plums.

DSC_0135 copy

Roasted tomatoes to freeze and have them ready for sauces later on.  A combination between Deb’s (from Smitten Kitchen) recipe and  SouleMama Amanda’s photoDSC_0136 copy DSC_0138 copy DSC_0140 copyI think it’s going to be good.

DSC_0013 copySome friends gave us some figs… not so much making of them, but tasting them! They were so good!

DSC_0001 copyThe applesauce cake (recipe here) that we all love was made when we had some friends over for dinner one night.  I think it was enjoyed by everyone.  I could make it every day if I could… it is so good.

DSC_0010 copyRhubarb (5 stalks) + Basil leaves (12-ish) + sugar (3/4 cups) + water (1 cup) = Rhubarb Basil Syrup (after cooking it for 20-ish minutes).  The base for so much goodness.   We’ve drank some and some is in the freezer.  We’ll see if it tastes as good in the winter.

One thought on “in the kitchen

  1. Erin September 17, 2015 / 2:51 am

    Marcela, I’ve popped in now and then and love the posts. I miss the kitchen blog hop, too! (I think that’s how I found your blog, in fact.)

    I am commenting, though, specifically to write hoping that your family and friends in Chile are all okay after the earthquake. When I saw the news, I thought of you and a few others I know who might be affected (depending on where in the country your loved ones are).

Leave a Reply

