making : grape jammin’

DSC_0133 copy

We got a bunch of grapes from a neighbor who had extras.  I’ve realized I love grapes, and try to get them when they look good and are fresh.   So, we jumped to the occasion.

DSC_0117 copy

We got lots!  We ate them, but we still had lots.  So I looked in our trusted Preserving book.  (By the way, our book doesn’t look nearly as nice as this one.)  I’ve never made anything with grapes, we’ve never had this many.

DSC_0115 copy

I found Grape Jelly and Grape Jam.  And we certainly had enough for a couple of batches of both kinds!  It was an afternoon of making.

DSC_0114 copy

Washed. Stemmed.

DSC_0120 copy

Measured. Cooked.

DSC_0121 copyJuices flowing.

DSC_0122 copyStrained.

DSC_0123 copy

Beautiful clear liquid.

DSC_0124 copy DSC_0136 copyAnd just like that, magic happens, and we have these beautiful jars.

DSC_0140 copySummer in a jar.  I love that!

DSC_0137 copy

I think I’m enjoying both equally.

2 thoughts on “making : grape jammin’

  1. Glendie September 2, 2015 / 10:35 am

    Nice. Will be yummy later on, too, huh?!!!

Leave a Reply

