A new pesto recipe

We love pesto.  Most of us at least, here at home.  I’ve tried the regular basil pesto from different recipes.  You can’t seem to go wrong with basil and pine nuts and parmesan cheese, right?  All so good and such a summer food.

I’ve also tried Stinging Nettle Pesto, and we like it, but I think it’s better fresh.  Everything is better fresh I think, but freezing it for winter eating works too.

Last year I made Lovage Pesto from a recipe online (that I can’t seem to find now) and it was also good.  I didn’t make too much, so I didn’t get to freeze it.

DSC_0005 copy

This year, we have so much kale that Mark and Siena started from seeds, I am loving it.

DSC_0006 copy

I make roasted kale chips for snacking and adding to popcorn, for salads, some smoothies (I think we need a better blender though), in whatever seems to need something green, kale is present.  But oh these plants are so good looking, they’ve done so well this year.  We’ve shared them with friends, and are constantly eating them, and we still have so much more.

DSC_0007 copy

After eating all this kale, I’ve been keeping the stems.  I freeze them with any other vegetable I’m saving to make stock later (on a day that is not so hot!)  But then I found an article on Rachel Ray‘s magazine (the June 2015 issue) about making pesto with kale’s stem.  Yes!  Those beautiful stems, that though I use them for something else, they re so good looking, that it was hard to leave for the compost.

So this Kale Stem Pesto recipe I welcomed happily.  It is really good.  I changed it a little, and this is what I made:

  • 3 cups of kale stems, chopped
  • 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1/2 cup walnut pieces
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1/2 cup olive oil or until consistency you like
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest, grated

DSC_0182 copy

Put everything in the blender and blend until smooth.  I think this pesto worked OK in our blender, but I think maybe the stinging nettle might be better in a food processor (that we don’t have.)

DSC_0185 copy

But oh yes, this turned out so good!

DSC_0187 copy

On crunchy, yummy bread with slices of eggs… oh yes!  It was so good! (I took 2 pictures.)

DSC_0188 copyLet me know what you think or if you have other pesto recipes.  I’m on a mission to try new green parts for a pesto.  But of course, basil is ready to be picked almost every day, so I’m heading that way next.

 

One thought on “A new pesto recipe

  1. Glendie August 1, 2015 / 5:45 am

    Looks SO tasty and pretty!

Leave a Reply

