World Unit : France

DSC_0002-small

We studied France and its history, geography, and culture through stories and their art.  I love searching what to study once we have a theme.  I search our library for all the books they have in the subject we’d like to study and check them out.  I organize them in areas, like science, art, or history, or people and places.  I really enjoy doing this prep work.  

DSC_0035-small

Then we get the books and dive in.  Fully.  From cooking, to reading non-fiction and fiction, and making art projects, or crafts.  I like to mix a little of everything.  We all like it that way. 

To study France, we started by reading in the World History Encyclopedia, all about France.  From the beginning of cave paintings, through Medieval Times, and the Renaissance, to the modern times.  We focused more in the times we liked the stories more.  If there was someone or something we wanted to learn more about.

DSC_0001-small DSC_0002-small DSC_0005-small DSC_0004-small DSC_0006-small DSC_0008-small

Like the two days we spent learning and reading about Marie Antoinette.  Siena especially liked her story and reading about her life.  We also spent a lot of time learning about some of the big French scientists (I posted about that here.)  And most of all, we spent lots of weeks learning about different artists, and I think we need another month to learn about all of the ones we are interested in learning more about.  (That post coming up later.)

DSC_0033-small

The books we used for this unit are (in no special order):

DSC_0014-small

We also watched some videos:

DSC_0016-small

Other resources we used:

DSC_0005-small

I will be adding more resources as we finish our unit and things come up.

DSC_0009-small DSC_0013-small

And if you have anything else you’ve enjoyed and would like to share, please do so in the comments.  It will be great to have those resources.  Hope you enjoyed these links and maybe it can spark a theme to study or maybe find something you’ve been looking for.  Thanks for coming to visit!  I will share real life photos when we come back from our trip.  I know we will have so much to share and won’t want to forget anything. 

DSC_0038-small

6 thoughts on “World Unit : France

  1. Traci Matt June 10, 2014 / 7:16 am

    Marcela, what a wonderful post. It makes me miss the scissors and crayons years! If you live near a larger city check the museums for special exhibits. We had an Impressionist exhibit near our home last year. Also, in the future if you need online French instruction, the BJU Press teacher, Mrs. Anderson, is wonderful.

  2. Yanic A. June 10, 2014 / 12:21 pm

    The prep work would be the best part for me as well if I was a homeschooler. In school, I always loved the research part best… but when it came time to writing the papers, I’d just procrastinate! LOL!

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela June 10, 2014 / 3:58 pm

      That’s funny. I did like the research part too. So I am really enjoying doing all this research… even I don’t mind it too much when we decide to change what we are studying 🙂 Thanks for coming to visit.

  3. Christa Brown June 10, 2014 / 1:35 pm

    We love to do country studies! Thanks so much for all of the great ideas!

Leave a comment