this week in my kitchen :: blog hop

I’m back playing along with Heather from Beauty That Moves this week again, sharing photos of our kitchen.  I know I’ve missed photographing most of the meals this week, but I’ll get back in the swing of things.  I know I will.

Summer is just catching up with us, we are enjoying the outdoors, meals are a less planned thing, and we are often with friends and some hungry younger people, waiting ’til the last minute for meals, hoping not to loose any extra minutes in their playing.

“A weekly collection of photos from the center of my home.”       — Heather

DSC_0002-smallOur garden is growing like crazy and the zucchinis and cucumbers are hiding from us.  We know it!  Look at this!

DSC_0004-smallGreen beans from the garden are also playing hiding from us.  Kombucha ready.

DSC_0008-small DSC_0009-smallMade a cake to celebrate a friend over for a sleepover, and celebrating his birthday.  I love this chocolate and zucchini cake.  It is so moist.  This also reminds me that I need to pay attention when I’m making my everyone-loves-applesauce cake.  I made it again this week for a dinner with friends here at home, but I forgot to put all the dry ingredients (except flour) because I got distracted talking to Mark while I was making it.  I don’t think this should count as being my fault messing up the recipe (again!), right?

DSC_0039-small DSC_0037-small DSC_0044-smallCrepes by Mark.  He’s our official breakfast person at home, and these crepes were so good.

And just to be clear, we did eat more than just sweets this week.  I just didn’t get the pictures.

Hope you are all having a beautiful summer week.  Do go check Heather’s Blog to see everyone else’s delicious foods.  They are always such a fun inspiration.  Thanks for stopping by!  See you tomorrow.

7 thoughts on “this week in my kitchen :: blog hop

  1. Erin August 14, 2014 / 2:07 pm

    Everyone needs some good, go-to sweet recipes. Thanks for sharing the chocolate-zucchini cake recipe. I just tried the choc-zucchini muffins in the Oh She Glows cookbook and really liked them. This might be next on the agenda.

  2. Deb August 14, 2014 / 8:15 pm

    I have a chocolate zucchini bread recipe that’s a real keeper, too! Chocolate and Zucchni really do seem to go together.

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela August 14, 2014 / 11:24 pm

      Hi Deb. Yes, I think the zucchini keeps it moist. So good. I’ve meant to try a bread recipe. I’ll have to search and give it a try. There’s lots of zucchinis coming into our kitchen these days.
      Thanks for coming to visit.

  3. woolythymes August 15, 2014 / 4:28 am

    another great way to use some of those unending zucchinis!!!! Thanks! (and thanks for hopping into my blog!)

  4. amanda August 16, 2014 / 7:20 pm

    yum! I want some crepes now, and I’m inspired to try to make a chocolate zucchini cake, too~ I made curried zucchini pickles this week, but chocolate cake sounds much yummier 😉

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela August 16, 2014 / 10:38 pm

      Hi Amanda. I think your curried zucchini pickles sound goo too. I’ll have to check that out. I made them years ago (18?), but I don’t remember how they turned out. Will have to check.
      The chocolate zucchini cake is delicious too though… you should try it! I’m sure you can find some zucchinis this time of year 🙂

Leave a comment