In the kitchen

IMG_1882 copy IMG_1885 copyThe other day I made this new recipe of Peach Pecan Crisp.  It was really good warm.  The kids and Mark had it with ice cream (I don’t like mixing it like that.)

IMG_1890 And then Mark finished it off for breakfast I think, because it was gone just like that.  So I think  at least one of us really liked it and gave it a 10 (in our food scoring system.)

And talking about food, I found this video about food.  A good reminder.

IMG_1518 IMG_1511 IMG_1513 Another day I made this Crackly Banana Bread from the Smitten Kitchen, and I must admit it was the best banana bread I’ve had in a while. I liked the crackly part… I gave it a 10, and I am not sure what everyone else did, but I am making it again. (Since I am the one asking for scores and manage the whole food scoring system, if I like something, it’s in the repeat binder.  Fair, right?)

Siena made these Cake Pops. They look so pretty!

IMG_2015 IMG_2147 Siena had a Swim-A-Thon last week, where the kids had to swim laps for 1 hour and 20 minutes.   As many laps as they could. So we set up a table of snacks for them, because we know how hungry these swimmers get.  We made these really good Pumpkin Chocolate Chips Cookies that I had printed the recipe from many years ago (10 maybe?)  The funny thing is that we had to make a lot of cookies, and I debated.  But we went ahead and made a triple batch of first-time cookies… but anything with chocolate can’t go wrong, right?

I changed it a little for mixing 1 cup all purpose flour and 1 cup of whole wheat.  They were good.

IMG_2016

And another found recipe from my pile, but newer (Cooking Light, May 2015) was this Marshmallow Popcorn Treats (with dark chocolate drizzle.) Also a keeper and liked by the kids.

It takes time to go through my too many pieces of magazine clips and printings from online recipes, but I do enjoy getting the new ideas and new recipes to try.  From dinners to desserts, to snacks and breads.  They are all a go and then are either discarded or kept.  This system is actually working for me right now.  But the pile of recipes to go through and try are too many.  There is no way we’ll make all these recipes in a year, or two, or even 5!  Besides, I have all those books in the kitchen too… but it’s working, and it’s very inspiring.  And a real plus if we find a meal that everyone enjoys.  That is a 10 in my books!

IMG_1516 IMG_2022

These two helpers I am really enjoying having around the kitchen.  They are a keeper as well.

One thought on “In the kitchen

  1. Glendie May 12, 2016 / 8:18 am

    LOVE all your blogs, but the cooking/kitchen ones really feel like HOME!!

Leave a Reply

