Left behind

DSC_0086 When I see empty buildings, it always makes me wonder what the story is behind the lives, the families, the people that lived here.

DSC_0087DSC_0096 This mobile home still there, with lamps and shades and shelves, but all ripped from the walls and fallen.

DSC_0159 DSC_0162DSC_0128 I am no architect or engineer but it makes me wonder why they built this rocks and wood pieces that makes wonder its stability.

DSC_0132

DSC_0095The house almost still standing, but yet, mostly gone.

DSC_0152 DSC_0153 DSC_0158 DSC_0167 Farming equipment left behind, covered by grass and oxidized.

DSC_0169 DSC_0175 At the end of a road, not well traveled.

DSC_0177 DSC_0180 DSC_0182 DSC_0184 DSC_0212DSC_0185 DSC_0189 Now this barn being used by rodents, and owls, and others I am sure.

DSC_0195DSC_0192 The gate still swinging with the wind.

DSC_0198 DSC_0200 Hinges and hooks meant to withstand the rough cold winters and hot summers as well as the strong winds.

DSC_0203 DSC_0207 DSC_0209

The recycler and thrifter in me makes me hope it could be saved, or the materials re-used.  But I think this is fine too, I guess.  I love the colors and the sight nevertheless.  I love it that makes me think of the history and the stories of these places.  But it also makes me think of what I might be leaving behind when time comes.  And what it will all look like.  I am sure there will be people who will be wondering then what all that I am leaving would have meant to me.  And so the stories are being built.

One thought on “Left behind

  1. Glendie April 11, 2016 / 7:39 am

    LOVE your way of seeing things!!!!

Leave a Reply

