Making for the fair

For months, we’ve been making, getting ready for the fair this weekend.

DSC_0025 copy

I can say probably, for years we’ve been making.  Yes, I’ve always been a crafter, growing up with my mom, and my grandmas (both of them), there’s always been sewing projects or canning or knitting or needlework, surrounding my life.

DSC_0030 copy

I’ve always liked to try making new things, new methods, new ways, new products.  You can check with any member of my family, and they’ll tell you I have too many (cool) pens, and too much (fun) yarn and (soft) wool and (bright, soft) fabric, and (cool) paper… I totally agree.  But I have to say, this girl down here, especially, is not much different than me.

DSC_0024 copy DSC_0027 copy

Thank goodness, because I love seeing her creativity.  She sees something in a book or magazine, or online, and takes it her own way.  And many times she thinks about it and makes it and keeps going at it, until she likes what she comes up with.

DSC_0014

The thing my family won’t tell you, though? Is that if their creativity wakes them up in the middle of the night, or before dinner, and we need a special supply right away, they know they can check with me or go to our Art Studio and they can probably find it, and be able to produce their project as dreamt.  Thanks to my assortment of tape or glue and papers or a specific fabric that we have out there.  I think in the end, they are thankful I like those cool pens and fabrics after all!

DSC_0015

And I have to say, that those wool felt pieces, all organized, in rainbow order, were Siena’s Christmas present this past winter, and she’s been using them and loves to have them on the ready for when she needs them.   And can you see my wobbly piles of fabric around it?  I’m glad she’s more organized than me.  She keeps me on task.

DSC_0004DSC_0028 copy DSC_0007

And so this weekend we have our first spring craft fair.  There’s been some shuffling of what we have, some new ideas turned into something, and we really can’t wait to see how it goes.  A new place, a new experience for sure.

DSC_0034 copyDSC_0077DSC_0050 DSC_0005 DSC_0006 DSC_0009

Spring is in the air, and on our tables.

DSC_0022 DSC_0018 DSC_0040

Things are getting finished and packed and ready to go.

DSC_0023DSC_0042DSC_0011

DSC_0012 DSC_0013 DSC_0024 DSC_0032

Some music, old seasons of Car Talk, or a book on tape (OK, audiobook) is usually on the radio to keep us going.

DSC_0030

Even though it doesn’t look like it in this picture… we are ready for this weekend.

If you are in town (Portland, Oregon), come and see us at the Buckman Art Show & Sell this weekend.

9075211

One thought on “Making for the fair

  1. Glendie March 12, 2016 / 5:34 am

    So nice… Makes me homesick for you and doing projects with you!

Leave a Reply

