A year out of this world

I can’t really imagine what it would mean or what it would take to be at the International Space Station (ISS).  Actually I can’t even imagine myself getting inside a space shuttle for any amount of time.  I don’t like being inclosed in a small space to begin with, but also, I am not that adventuresome.  It doesn’t sound like fun at any level.  But I am very glad there are other people who do it.  I enjoy the results from their work.

But if I were to be OK flying off this world into space, I don’t think I could spend 340 days in yet another small space, “floating” in space.  I don’t think I could spend 6 months up there, or a month even.  I don’t know what it takes to become an astronaut, but I know I don’t have any of those characteristics.  I guess, enjoying the view from up there and taking pictures…. yes, I could do that.  Probably.  Maybe.  For few hours.  I don’t know.  Maybe not.

This is one of the responses Astronaut Scott Kelly wrote about a typical day up in ISS:

I wake up at about 6:45 am. I work most of the day on different experiments, maintenance and operations of the space station. I exercise, and I end my workday at about 7:30 or 8 p.m. I go to sleep about a couple hours later.

I have thoroughly enjoyed the pictures Astronaut Scott Kelly  I posted some pictures back in August, and I can’t tire of seeing his pictures (on Facebook) with all the shapes, and colors… what a view it must be from up there.  I find it incredible.  Incredible nature, colors, shapes, incredible that he could stay up there for a whole year.

I am really hoping Mr. Kelly publishes a book with his images, because I’d be the first one in line to get it.  Most of his photos look surreal, many times like paintings, abstract lots of the time, it is just amazing what our Earth is all about.

Here, I, by no means, want to take credit for his work by posting his photos that I’ve copied from Mr. Scott Kelly’s posts.  I just want to make sure I can still enjoy them until he does publish his book… (wishful thinking, right?)

And of course, I want to celebrate the completion of his (their) mission.  On March 1 (just few days from now) he (and the Russian cosmonaut) will return to Earth.  He will finally return home to his family and friends.  He will be with his twin brother with whom they are doing scientific studies to see what gravity and being out of it for this prolonged time does to his body.  And as this article says, he’ll have few things to re-adjust to.  I’m hoping we can watch his last live interview from ISS tomorrow.  And of course, we’ll continue to watch and read more about what it has been like this past year for him and everyone at the ISS.

For now, I am celebrating his accomplishment, because I have enjoyed what he has shared with us online.  Videos, thoughts, and these amazing images.  (You can see Time’s pick of Scott Kelly’s best photos.) I am forever thankful for the chance to see our beautiful, wonderful Earth through his camera.

%22When you think of beautiful things. Don't forget Earth%22 Scott Kelly from ISS Feb 1 2016
“When you think of beautiful things, don’t forget the Earth” by Astronaut Scott Kelly, from ISS. February 1, 2016. Year in Space.
Snow from ISS.
Snow from ISS.
304th day in orbit = 4864 round Earth from ISS January 2016 Scott Kelly
“304 th Day in orbit = 4864 Round Earth” by Astronaut Scott Kelly, from ISS.  January, 2016.  Year in Space.
Sands of Africa from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 2016.
Sands of Africa from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 2016.
Africa colors from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 16, 2016.
Africa colors from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 16, 2016.
Colors of Africa from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 16, 2016.
Colors of Africa from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 16, 2016.
Colors of Africa from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 16, 2016.
Colors of Africa from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 16, 2016.
Colors of Africa from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 16, 2016.
Colors of Africa from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 16, 2016.
Africa - from ISS Scott Kelly Jan 2016
Africa. By Astronaut Scott Kelly, from ISS.  January, 2016. Year in Space.
Africa from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 11, 2016.
Africa from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 11, 2016.

Astronaut Scott Kelly posted on Tumblr the description of this sight in Africa and he titled it, Earth Art : Out of Africa.  Do go visit when you have few minutes, it is amazing.

Africa - Jan 26 2016 from ISS Scott Kelly
Africa. By Astronaut Scott Kelly, from ISS.  January 26, 2016. Year in Space.
Africa from ISS by Scott Kelly on day 321
Africa on day 321. By Astronaut Scott Kelly from ISS. 2016. Year in Space.
Japan on Day 322 from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 12, 2016.
Japan on Day 322 from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 12, 2016.
Blizzard 2016 from ISS - Scott Kelly
Blizzard 2016. By Astronaut Scott Kelly from ISS. Year in Space.
Polar vortex from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly on February 14, 2016.
Polar vortex from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly on February 14, 2016.
Colors of the Earth - Scott Kelly from ISS Feb 18 2016
“Colors of the Earth.” By Astronaut Scott Kelly, February 18, 2016 from ISS. Year in Space.
Flowers frown in Space by Scott Kelly ISS - Feb 2016
Flowers grown in space by Astronaut Scott Kelly. February 2016. At ISS. Year in Space.
Iran from ISS - Scott Kelly
Iran. By Astronaut Scott Kelly, from ISS. 2016. Year in Space.
Italy and the Alps from ISS by Scott Kelly - January 25 2016
Italy and the Alps from ISS. By Astronaut Scott Kelly, from ISS> January 25, 2016. Year in Space.
Morning Aurora in the PNW from ISS - Scott Kelly Jan 2016
Morning Aurora in the Pacific Northwest from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly. January 2016. Year in Space.
Morning Aurorai from ISS - Scott Kelly
Morning Aurora from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly, from ISS. Winter 2016. Year in Space.
Mother Earth by Scott Kelly - Feb 18 2016
“Mother Earth” by Astronaut Scott Kelly, from ISS. February 18, 2016. Year in Space.
Ho Chi Minh City from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly on February 15, 2016.
Ho Chi Minh City from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly on February 15, 2016.
Snowy foothills of Iran from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly on February 22, 2016.
Snowy foothills of Iran from ISS by Astronaut Scott Kelly on February 22, 2016.
Over a Shanghai night - Scott Kelly ISS Feb 8, 2016
“Over a Shangai Night” by Astronaut Scott Kelly, from ISS. February 8, 2016. Year in Space.
Colors of Africa - Scott Kelly from ISS Feb 22 2016
“Colors of Africa” by Astronaut Scott Kelly, from ISS. February 22, 2016. Year in Space.

One of the last interviews to both of the astronauts at the ISS before they return home after a year in space.  And this website a really fun one to check as well.   I am hopping we can watch live their return back to Earth.

Scott Kelly himself, at the International Space Station on February 13, 2016.
Scott Kelly himself, at the International Space Station on February 13, 2016.

Thank you Mr. Kelly for sharing these beautiful sights with the whole world while you watched us from up above.

Leave a Reply

