Making : Hot pads

DSC_0001 copy

A good friend of ours had her birthday this month, and even though she said she doesn’t have a birthday this year, we gave her a non-birthday present.

DSC_0002 copy

They went to France few months ago so I thought I’d make her some pot holders with the Paris fabric I have from the quilts I made for Lucas and Siena (a post on that coming up) and the one I made for us.DSC_0004 copy

I sewed the strips together and added a bottom strip, to make it a little bigger, since the frame of those postcard-type fabric, wasn’t big enough.  I layered the top and the bottom with cotton batting and insulated lining (Insul-Bright.)

DSC_0005 copy DSC_0006 copy

I thought they turned out pretty cute, so I made some for us too.

DSC_0001 I used the rest of the frames I had and used the left over strips I had from the kids’ quilts.

DSC_0004 So they were all different, but look similar I think.

DSC_0010 DSC_0008

I stitched it around the seams so the batting doesn’t move around, so a very simple quilt. And instead of binding I sewed the pieces inside out, and then turned it (making sure I sewed a ribbon for hanging them), and top stitched all the way around the edge to close the opening where I turned it right side out.

DSC_0011DSC_0014

Pretty simple after all and it’s always fun to have something just made in the kitchen, that we use every day, and reminds us of our adventures.

2 thoughts on “Making : Hot pads

  1. Glendie February 16, 2016 / 6:39 am

    Other wonderful, imaginative projects, again and AGAIN!!!!!

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela February 16, 2016 / 10:34 am

      Thanks Glendie. Trying to use up the fabrics I have! But the pile doesn’t seem to go down…. ever!🙂

Leave a Reply

