in the kitchen

I did a little cleaning in the kitchen few weeks ago.  I find that winter, January in particular, is a good cleaning and re-arranging month.

DSC_0094

Not so much decluttering here in this room just yet,  I am still enjoying and looking through all those library cookbooks on top…  DSC_0097 DSC_0098Some beautiful, great cookbooks gifted by some friends.  I am having a lot of fun looking through them and planning our meals.

DSC_0101

We’ve enjoyed salads with some new oil and vinegar I received for Christmas.  I think I’m going to go check it out when we are out.

The day starts.  I make bread, some days.  Some days I make muffins.  Some days the food goes in the slow cooker in the morning.  Other days, goes from the freezer to the oven.  People get home.  They are taken to activities.  The food is ready.  Hungry people walk in.  The food is eaten.  Plates are empty, dishes are washed.  Showers are taken, bodies lay in beds.  The next day begins.

In between all that there is going on, there is always food (we are lucky that way.)  As I clean my recipes, from folders, binders, baskets, I pick our meals for what sounds good, trying to vary what we eat.  I like it that way.

One of those days, I found a pumpkin bread recipe and some easy dinner rolls (I’ve never made them before.)  I made them for dinner the other day (no pictures of them, read explanation above.)  As they are coming out of the oven, Mark stops by the oven and tries one of the rolls with butter, and comments after having butter melted all over “these are dangerously good!”  Ahhh… my heart melts too… I can’t ask to hear anything better than that!  Those are going to be on repeat I am sure.

In my cleaning, I found these seeds that we bought to sprout.  We are waiting. DSC_0108 DSC_0112 DSC_0114 DSC_0116 DSC_0001 DSC_0002 Looking good!

DSC_0004 A Christmas present.  Beans and beer corn bread.  Perfect for a cold winter day! (Thank you, Grandma)

DSC_0022Elderberry syrup being made with frozen elderberries and some of the honey we had harvested from our bees.

DSC_0098

I couldn’t wait… I know strawberries and raspberries in February in Portland is not normal.  But oh… they looked so good…  And they were!DSC_0101Now, we are ready to go back to oranges and apples for few more months.

DSC_0146And of course, lemons too!  This is Siena’s and Mark’s dessert one day.  I’m not a lemon bar kinda’ person, but it was really good.

DSC_0099

This is where it’s all happening at the moment… What have you’ve been cooking and baking?

One thought on “in the kitchen

  1. Glendie February 11, 2016 / 6:50 am

    UMMMmmm Ymmmm

Leave a Reply

