Our Paris quilt

I realized I never posted last year about the quilts I made with the Paris fabric I found (mostly) at Fabric Depot.  I don’t go to the store very often, but when I do, I can spend all day looking through all the fabrics they have.  So many options, so many ideas!

DSC_0019 copy

After seeing few quilts on Pinterest I had decided I wanted to use rectangles, and thought I had a clear idea of how I wanted to make this quilt.

DSC_0015 copy DSC_0025 copy

I tried many ways, all those blocks. But they didn’t come together.  I left it and played with the pieces for few days.  I had helpers at different times to see what they could see, and suggestions were welcomed.

DSC_0028 copy DSC_0030 copy DSC_0033 copy

Nothing was catching my eye.  I wasn’t happy with how I was putting them together.  Until it did.

DSC_0098 copy

This was exactly what I wanted.

DSC_0103 copy

This is a new design for me.  I’ve never made zig-zags, and I like how it turned out.

DSC_0016 copy DSC_0018 copy

It was supposedly for our bed, but I think in the almost a year now, this was the only time it’s been there.  The rest of the time is in the living room, being used.  I don’t feel so bad.  I like seeing it around and being used by everyone.  That’s the idea behind my quilts.  The more wear they get, the better.  The more we wash them and the softer they’ll get. They need to be loved, I’m all for that and it makes me happy.

DSC_0017 copy DSC_0021 copy DSC_0022 copy

It reminds us of our trip to Europe two summers ago.  And that is exactly what I wanted.

DSC_0020 copyDSC_0027 copy

I usually find a design that I like, and then I use the fabrics I have.  For this one though, I bought the fabrics for the quilt.  That was a first!  I’ve never really followed a pattern.  I like the photos for inspiration, makes me think a little more.

DSC_0028 copy

This is the back.  I found a fabric with a map of Paris.  I cut it and used other fabrics in between, so it wasn’t so busy.  And because I didn’t have enough material for the whole back, since it’s a pretty big quilt.  I like it how it turned out.  DSC_0030 copy

Thank you Paris for the memories and the inspiration!  ‘Til next time.  Who knows, right?

4 thoughts on “Our Paris quilt

  1. Glendie January 25, 2016 / 7:27 am

    !!! LOVE it!!!

  2. Kelly January 28, 2016 / 10:55 am

    It’s fantastic!!! Love the zigzag pattern!!

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela January 28, 2016 / 4:54 pm

      Thank you Kelly. I do like how it came out, and cool to see how different it was with every move of the blocks. Like making a puzzle.

Leave a Reply

