last few weeks…

The days are going by so quickly.  It seems to happened to me this time of the year.  Maybe it’s the getting ready and all the making that is happening in our home.  There’s crafting, math, reading, Norse Mythology and Vikings, writing, swim meets, baseball practices, cooking, driving and riding to and from practices, breakfasts and lunches, planning, sewing, basketball practices, knitting, cooking, spinning, leaves raking, putting the garden to sleep, sweeping, writing of this blog, playing, and of course, all the cleaning, and laundry to be folded and put away and don’t let me forget the rotting pumpkins in the porch that need to be taken to the compost.

The last few weeks…

… I’ve enjoyed the rain, hearing split splat in the roof and gutters most every day.  I do love the rain and have missed it.  I am taking it all in, and I happily see it come down.

… I was surprised to see him covered in mud for the stealth game he played in his day out in the woods.  I loved it.

DSC_0154 copy

… found new music I am enjoying.  This video, and I like this one too, and have enjoyed listening to this CD I’ve had checked out from the library for so many weeks.

… noticed the sun is low and barely warming up when it comes out, but makes beautiful beautiful days indeed.DSC_0144 copy DSC_0143 copy DSC_0141 copy

… watched this video of Astronaut Scott Kelly and his first walk in space to fix the ISS.

… had planned of having someone special for dinner and all of a sudden, a phone call later, we got three more sitting next to her and us at the table and a puppy sniffing around!  A little more tomato sauce added to the sauce already cooking, and another bag of spaghetti to the pot made enough for all of us.  They were in the neighborhood, haven’t seen them in few months, it was the perfect time to re-connected and catch up with their lives, a birthday singing over the phone to a grandma we care and haven’t seen in a while either.  And they even brought us pumpkin pie and whipped cream because what is it a cold fall evening with dear friends without one?  I love an impromptu dinner party in the middle of the week!

… when everyone in the neighborhood were at work, and all the kids were in school, we were in PJ’s and running around outside barefoot.  Oh… the joys of homeschooling!

DSC_0121 copy

… have enjoyed using Pandora lately.  After my find of Hey Marseilles (and those videos up above), I was suggested I’d also like Blind Pilot.  And yes! Check out this video, I love the energy, the dancing, the smiles.  Might be a good one to get me started in the morning.

… some friends went to France for 3 weeks and we got this beautiful kitchen towel to brighten our days as a present from them, and remind us of that wonderful place, across the ocean, that we keep talking about and that they enjoyed too.

DSC_0235 copy

A little reminder of maybe another trip some day.  It’s a wonderful thing to dream.  And these past few days when thinking of Paris makes my heart ache a little.

… had a special guest over few weekends ago.

… enjoy the golden light coming in with a little warmth.

DSC_0132 copy

… had swim practices and a swim meet.  Spending many hours in the warmth and smell of chlorine.  That I don’t want to talk bad about, because there is one person in our house that loves that smell, that smell of pool.  Maybe I should get her this t-shirt.

Found online on this website.
Found online on this website.

Maybe I should make something like this for her:

DSC_0262 copy perfume

… carved pumpkins.

DSC_0055 copy

… and roasted the seeds. DSC_0027 copy

… knitted. Sewed. Painted. Knitted some more.  Sewed some more.  Holiday fairs are coming up faster than I am ready.

… baked bread. Few times. It makes our kitchen warm and smells good too, and make good presents for friends and coaches.

… loved, love so much when my little guy brings me presents like these from his walk!

DSC_0014 copy

… have enjoyed them on our table with other found autumn loves.

DSC_0017 copy

… ate cake and celebrated turning 45.

DSC_0436 copy DSC_0442 copy DSC_0446 copy DSC_0449 copyChocolate, almond, raspberries-cake.  So good!

… got a new cup and realized that we have another lovely (and dirty) Oregon love we use every day.  My Oregon forest mug, and my heart is in Oregon for sure.

DSC_0020 copy

… on my special day, was treated with breakfast in bed, a surprise morning all together, and showered with thoughtful, beautiful presents.

DSC_0173 copy

My family knows me.  New, cool, purple canning jars.  A new tea and a new mug.  A new, hole-less, super-soft cashmere sweater, a coupon book.  Chocolates delivered by a friend. My mom sent me a new notebook.  I love notebooks and notepads, and pens and paper (… and of course, yarn, and fabric too!) so she always sends me a new one for my birthday (with small squares, I prefer) and this time, a new needle holder.  Perfect!  I’m all set for a long while in everything.

… got wet.  Soaked actually, and loved it.  Gosh I do love the rain.

… enjoyed a late breakfast on my own one day, when I had a whole day to myself.  And feel lucky we have some yummy (new) jams to treat ourselves.

DSC_0004 copy

… the kids with friends played in the rain, in the water, in the moments we had a torrential rain, they went to the park to play in the rain.  In shorts, barefoot, flip flops, and t-shirt. Enjoying the rain coming down, but enjoying the hot chocolate waiting for them when they came back, wet and cold.

… went for walks.

… received a gorgeous autumn bouquet of flowers. and a caring and thoughtful card.  Thank you my dear friends.

DSC_0023 copy

We are having fun and I hope you are too.  Have a beautiful beginning to your week.

One thought on “last few weeks…

  1. Glendie November 16, 2015 / 7:37 am

    What wonderful memories! Your are a great noticer…..

Leave a Reply

