in the kitchen

Last week of September Menu copy

Pesto.  Yes, regular basil pesto.  We love pesto.

DSC_0018 copy DSC_0022 copy DSC_0037 copy

With these beautiful veggies from the garden, it took me to make salsa.

DSC_0039 copy DSC_0041 copy

I got the basic idea for the salsa, from Deb from Smitten Kitchen, but added the veggies we had available and ready to pick from the garden.  This time, I blended it, and I think the kids liked it more this way, since they are not big fans of tomatoes.

DSC_0044 copy

It turned out really good I think.  I wonder how I can make it so I can can it.

DSC_0065 copy

The cooler weather has called me to make some chai.  I’ve been making a concentrate so I can have it in the fridge ready to make, when I don’t have time to prepare it from scratch.  I use for the most part, Heather’s recipe. It is so good.

DSC_0072 copy

I made this sandwich bread from Deb at Smitten Kitchen.  It is so good!  Another bread recipe in rotation.  Good!

DSC_0073 copy DSC_0075 copy

I think I’ll be making more loaves.  And I love it that it makes two. It is perfect.  I am so grateful for the amazing folks that share their cooking skills with wonderfully delicious recipes free for all of us to use and cook and share with our families and friends.  It makes me happy.  There are great proper in this world.  Yes indeed.

DSC_0081 copySome friends have two fig trees and I have enjoyed this year for the first time, eating fresh figs.  I had no idea they are so good!  They do turn mooshy quickly, but since they are just few houses down from us, I’ve enjoyed freshly picked figs a couple of times already.  So good!  And as a way to thank them, I made some fig jam with fruits from their trees while they’ve been gone so they can keep enjoying their fruits when they return, in case they are passed their peak. So good!  Thank you dear friends for sharing.

2 thoughts on “in the kitchen

  1. Glendie October 8, 2015 / 7:44 am

    Pretty. Changing. Colorful. Creative. Yummy. Busy. Good. Satisfying.

Leave a Reply

