backyard fixin’

We love hanging out in our backyard.  It is my favorite spot in the summer, and in the fall too.

DSC_0027-small

DSC_0201-small

DSC_0004-small

But I can say also, so it is in the spring where we can see everything starting to come back alive after months of being asleep, and more and more hours are spent out there, getting it ready for the summer months.

DSC_0024-small

And you know? I appreciate it in the winter months too, when things are wet, the grass green as can be and the muddy spots show where we’ve worn our paths.  And of course, the weird times we get to enjoy snow.

DSC_0004-small

DSC_0003-small

Our back yard is lived and loved.  Played and sat.  Read and written.  Listened and talked.  It is laughed and cried.  It is making memories and remembering them.  It is eaten and made.  It is celebrated.  It is shown and discovered.  It is slept and awakened.  It is warm and cold.  It is old and new.  It is so much.  It is where we spend most of our hours and meals in the summer.

DSC_0024-small

I got these used chairs and coach and table few years ago.  I got rid of that table because I don’t like glass in the backyard, because of all what we do out there.  We have kids, there’s baseballs, basketballs, rackets, hula hoops, and who knows if it gets in the way of our playing.

DSC_0047-small

And because there’s always lots of playing and talking and hanging out out there, and I’d say almost certain, we have extra people every day, when we like to hang out together, I’ve been looking for a couple of extra wicker chair I could add to our sitting area.  And so, few months ago I found two for $5.  Not bad I thought, even thought they were green and not white.

DSC_0047-small

So, at the beginning of the summer, I went and bought white spray paint to give them a new coat and make them match.  As I was reading on the internet if there was any tricks to using spray paint (I’ve never done it before) I found all these beautifully painted wicker furniture, in all bright colors.

I changed my mind.  Went back to the store and changed the color of paint as well.

DSC_0067 copy

Before I painted I did some fixing, because these chairs and coach had big holes in the arms and in the back rest.

DSC_0064 copy DSC_0066 copy

The arms looked OK and I think it can last another year.  The duct tape of course… I am not so sure.

DSC_0065 copy

I then moved them to my painting corner.

DSC_0069 copy

Where I put a shower curtain to keep the ground and fence not too blue.

DSC_0068 copy

One by one, the chairs started to appear in our newly fixed up area.

DSC_0088 copy

I kept the cushions, because it makes them more comfy.

DSC_0007 copy

I just added quilts to add color.

DSC_0005 copy

And even though it took a lot more cans than I thought it would, and my arm (the muscle you use to push the spray nozzle) was sore after painting 6 large pieces of furniture, I am so happy how they turned out.

DSC_0006 copy

It is one of my summer painting projects for this year (I’ll share the other when it’s finally put back together, and it’s actually not that exciting.)  I like it a lot.  I love the color, and it turned out to be our happy corner we’ve all enjoyed all these months already.

One thought on “backyard fixin’

  1. Glendie August 28, 2015 / 7:29 am

    So VERY Nice!!!!

Leave a Reply

