Making : Sauerkraut

DSC_0010 copy

Few weeks ago we had some friends over for dinner and we realized we didn’t have any of our home-made sauerkraut.  Because we were grilling sausages, we had to go buy some, and I realized how much I prefer the one we make at home.

So, I got a cabbage and made sauerkraut few days ago.  It is still fermenting, so I can’t say how good it is just yet, but I really like making it.

DSC_0002 copy

Thanks to the publisher of the book I usually use, I was able to post the recipe two years ago here in the blog. I used the same one this time around.

DSC_0003 copySlice.

DSC_0005 copyPut the salt. 

DSC_0007 copyMassage the cabbage with the salt for about 10 minutes until the juice starts coming out. 

DSC_0008 copyThen pack in in a jar with a lid.

DSC_0009 copy DSC_0011 copyPack it firmly, so the brine covers all the cabbage. 

DSC_0012 copy DSC_0013 copyAnd close it.  Check and taste in few days.  Can’t wait.

 

One thought on “Making : Sauerkraut

  1. Glendie August 16, 2015 / 5:21 am

    LOVE your blog, almost like being there…you are SO good, with the clarity of your photos and comments. AND I love that you love to make things….

    glendie

Leave a Reply

