last week

… I voted.

… we went to a swim meet.  Lots of fun and lots of hard work from my little girl.  What a dedicated little person she is.  I admire her for that.

… Lucas made this fishing pole at his Trackers day up in the woods.

DSC_0004 copy

… I put few more Christmas lights in the living room/dining room/library/family room area.  With the time change it feels so dark.  More lights were necessary.  I love those little lights, it gives such a warm light.  Perfect for fall and winter times.

DSC_0057 copy

… I found a frame at the thrift store for my present my sister-in-law gave me few weeks ago.  A poster  of the Portland bridges that I’ve been wanting to get for so many years.  Every time I found it at a store I thought it would be fun to have.  I just never got it.  And one day, I got home to this wonderful present from her waiting for me.  So nice, isn’t it?   And now it is in this beautiful area, to remind us of this city I love so much.

DSC_0056 copy

… I cleaned up my desk. I like it when it’s clear of clutter and papers I haven’t put away for weeks and we all just piled them on top of it.  Now, it looks good. I feel I can breathe a little deeper.  We’ll see how long it lasts.

DSC_0055 copy

… we’ve been doing lots of crafting. Lots of it.  We are getting ready for our first (of two) Holiday Fairs we’ll probably go to this year.  We’ll see how it goes.

… I worked in few cards that are way over due.  It’s been hard to get back in the idea of printing photos from a photo center.  Having them on the computer and online has made me a little lazy about printing them but I’d like to share with some special friends we saw and met this summer.

… we found this cool hat.

DSC_0005 copy DSC_0008 copy

… I can still see beautiful colors out of my kitchen window.  It makes it so much more fun to wash those dishes.

…  we got some beautiful presents from Ethiopia.

DSC_0058 copy

… we went to the thrift store and I found this old atlas.  I love maps, and old maps especially, are so neat.

DSC_0060 copy DSC_0059 copy

 

… we found a cool newspaper inside this old atlas.  It is from an old Portland newspaper, Oregon Journal.  It’s from Sunday, March 16, 1941.

DSC_0061 copy DSC_0063 copyI love it, it’s so interesting and historic. I need to frame it I think.

… we celebrated my birthday.  I can’t tell you how beautiful it was.  Breakfast in bed.

DSC_0007 copyFlowers. These beautiful sunflowers that symbolizes autumn, my favorite season are my favorite flowers.  And coming from Chile, growing up with spring birthdays turned into a fall birthday now, I’ll take with open arms. I love this time of the year.  I am lucky.

DSC_0010 copyStopped at a new place (to us) for lunch, with warm baguettes.  Then swimming practice and laps for me.  Volunteer work.

DSC_0021 copyA delicious meal made by Mark.  DSC_0022 copyAn evening in great company. DSC_0023 copyA new water pitcher that I’ve been coveting for few years.  (Oh, have you’ve heard these pitchers when you pour? I love it!)

DSC_0018 copyA delicious cake.  A gift from my parents.  DSC_0027 copyMy kids lighting the candles for me.  These candles that they made few years ago that we use for these kinds of occasions. 

DSC_0034 copy DSC_0038 copyIt seems like just yesterday we had to do the lighting ourselves.  I am so lucky to have these two little people with me.  DSC_0039 copyAnd of course, the big guy in the back as well.  I love these three very special people. DSC_0045 copyAnd they treated me with love.  As always.DSC_0054 copyOh what a day.  I am so very lucky indeed.

… on my birthday, as I mentioned up here, we went to another volunteer day at the Oregon Food Bank.  Mark stayed home that day to share that day with us.  That day we packed pears in smaller bags.  We packed 14,636 pounds, which is meals for 12,197 families.  All this translates into 381 meals per volunteer who attended that day.  It just makes us feel good we can do this and help a little.  We are looking forward to our next date.

I found it on Pinterest.  If it's your design let me know.
I found it on Pinterest. If it’s your design let me know.

… we celebrated my mom’s birthday too, from the distance, since they are in Chile. We both have the same birthday… I love it!  It’s always been so special to share that day with her.  Thirty years apart, I was born on her birthday.

unnamed-3

And here they are celebrating in the town where my dad grew up, on a beautiful Chilean spring day.  ¡Feliz Cumpleaños Mamá!  Ojalá que lo hayas pasado bien también.

Leave a Reply

