Freestyle

Siena raced 500m freestyle yesterday.  She’s never raced that long of a race, so she was excited and nervous about it.  We’ve been swimming laps together when Lucas has his swim practice, and she had timed and practiced swimming 500 then.  She knows she swims more than that in practices, but it’s different in a meet.

We’d start together, but just for the first stroke… well, not even.  Because her push from the wall is much better than mine.  So I can’t really say we’d swim together.  She passes me once, twice, three times, actually, all twenty times.

DSC_0097 copySo yesterday, when she was getting ready to swim the 500, I got nervous.  I guess I always do when she’s getting ready to swim.  (As I do when Lucas is about to pitch or bat.)  It’s the butterflies in my belly, of excitement really, because I know they are having fun, and I’ excited for them.  She looks so small there, but at the same time she seems big.  She’s grown up a lot lately.

DSC_0099 copyThis is when I know she’s ready.  She has to be, I guess.  Arms forward, hands firmly holding the diving board.  She’s ready for her swimming today.

DSC_0100 copyOK.  Can you just give me few sentences here please?  I know, and I am sorry because I have said many beautiful things about my kids here in this space already, but let me just say one more thing today.  This dive, her dive right here, she looks so strong, she looks so perfect, so beautifully well done.  Doesn’t it? I am not a coach, I’m her mom, and I can see that is just perfect.   (You can just go along with me here… and you can also laugh too. It’s OK. Thank you though for letting me say it one more time.)

DSC_0101 copy DSC_0104 copy DSC_0105 copyHer angles, the arm bending here… perfect.  Doesn’t it look so pretty?  I wonder if my swimming is even close to this… maybe I’ll ask her to take my pictures.  I did take swimming lessons growing up, and I went to a swim class in college, but I never competed.  And the last time someone corrected my style, has probably been 30 years ago.  Mmm… maybe I don’t want her to take pictures then.  I think I’ll keep on thinking my arms look almost as nice as hers.

DSC_0106 copy DSC_0142 copy DSC_0107 copy(This photo looks like a foot coming out of her loose cap laying in the water… not sure what it is but had to leave the photo.) 

DSC_0115 copy DSC_0133 copy DSC_0110 copy DSC_0118 copyAnd the flip turn. I love it! I never learned it. I should see if she can teach me.

DSC_0120 copy DSC_0124 copyAnd yes, another lap.  Actually you have 19 more sweetie. Keep going!

DSC_0144 copyWe were all cheering for her at one end of the pool.

DSC_0145 copyHer friends. Her brother. Me.

DSC_0136 copyMark was timing on the other side of the pool.  He was volunteering, timing for another swimmer at this time.  But we are all watching her.  We are all cheering for her.  If she could just hear us…

DSC_0146 copyYup! Almost there.  17 laps done.  5 minutes swimming.  Not bad!  She’s almost done.

DSC_0127 copyWe all watched her.  What a treat it was.

DSC_0152 copyTwenty laps in the pool (of 25 meters long), making all 500 meters together in less than 7 minutes.  Not bad I think.  Really good actually.  We are proud of her.

DSC_0155 copy

I am also so impressed of her strength and her energy.  She’s growing up and is becoming so strong.  I am in awe of her dedication. I am always inspired by her and her love for swimming and always wanting to improve herself.  Her coach told us once about her being “dedicated, focused and determined.”  Sometimes at home we have seen these qualities as strong-willed.  Especially when she wants something we have decided is not the right time for it.  But hey!  It all depends on how you see it, right?  Determined and dedicated and focused, are all great things.  And we are so proud for them all.  Nice job my little big girl.  We are loving watching you swim and enjoy it so much.  Thank you!

2 thoughts on “Freestyle

  1. Glendie November 9, 2014 / 7:27 am

    Thank you for sharing this event. I thought about her (and you) a lot.

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela November 9, 2014 / 3:17 pm

      Hi Glendie. She did so good and really liked it I think. Not her favorite yet… it was just a great meet.

Leave a Reply

