this week in my kitchen :: blog hop

Following Heather’s blog hop (from Beauty That Moves) I share here with you what happened in our kitchen this past week.

“A weekly collection of photos from the center of my home.”       — Heather

Mark has been asking me to make more fermented sauerkraut, with purple cabbage.  So I did, because it’s really good, and it will keep in the fridge once it’s ready, and there are so many cabbages right now.  It is easy to solve this problem.  You just gotta make sauerkraut when you have cabbages. Right?

DSC_0004 copy

And because it is cabbage season, coleslaw is in order too.

DSC_0005 copy

And while I was chatting with my mom last week (she’s in Chile but thank goodness for technology!), it reminded me of this soup we used to eat.  And it’s perfect for cold days and it was perfect to use the shelled beans we had from the garden.  Porotos Granados.  This recipe shows the same beans we used.

DSC_0013 copyIt turned out really good we thought.  Of course, with homemade warm bread.  Similar to this recipe that I found in English but with fresh beans.

DSC_0032 copyOur shelves are looking so pretty and colorful, and are full to the edges.  So much food, I am sure we’ll enjoy in the coming winter months.  Hmmm… I can already savor the peaches come January.  I’m glad we were able to can some.

DSC_0029 copy

And there has been some baking too.  Siena helped me make these muffins.  They are Maya’s recipe from MayaMade.  Buttermilk Apple Cinnamon Muffins.  And yes, we picked the strudel topping, and it was so yummy!

You should go over to Heather’s blog and see all the fabulous kitchens and their makings for some wonderful inspiration.  Every week there is so much and so good!  Happy Thursday to you and thanks for stopping by.

 

4 thoughts on “this week in my kitchen :: blog hop

  1. Erin October 9, 2014 / 4:55 pm

    I love your pantry! And the muffins look delicious…I really need to make muffins this weekend. I’m so looking forward to extra time to relax and cook.

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela October 9, 2014 / 5:34 pm

      Hi Erin. Yes! They are delicious muffins! We are making some more soon 🙂 Thanks for the comment. I am loving the colors of the pantry too. Have a great, restful weekend.

  2. Kelly October 9, 2014 / 5:58 pm

    Some days I want to come live in your kitchen!

Leave a Reply

