OFFF

DSC_0025 copy

Oregon Flock and Fiber Festival, was last weekend.

DSC_0032 copy DSC_0033 copy

As I walked around the tables filled with beautiful and wonderful things, my heart opened when most often I was greeted with Please touch! signs throughout the space. Oh well, yes, thank you! I do need to see with my hands. DSC_0034 copy

I loked a little bit before the vendors opened, because I was heading to my first class.

DSC_0039 copy

My morning class was Goat’s Milk Soap Making.  I’ve always wanted to make soap with goat milk, and this was the right time.

DSC_0027 copy DSC_0030 copy DSC_0028 copy

I didn’t get a lot of pictures during the class, because I was paying attention.  But at the end got some opt these photos so I can remember and remind me that I’d like to try it at home now.

I made soap when we first moved to the US, 20 years ago.  I don’t remember the recipe I used, and I really hope I used containers we didn’t use in cooking later.  Not sure I knew exactly what I was doing, and for what I remember, we never ended up using the soap.  I wonder what happened to it.  I think this time, I know a little more, and would love to give it a try again.  I’ll let you know when I do.

DSC_0070 copy DSC_0071 copy DSC_0072 copyThere was lunch and enough time to look around a little more.

DSC_0035 copy DSC_0036 copy DSC_0037 copyOh baskets.  I have a weak spot for them.  I could have brought them all home with me.

DSC_0040 copyThen I took the Natural Dye class.

DSC_0043 copyPainting and stamping silk scarves.  

DSC_0045 copy DSC_0046 copy DSC_0048 copySo many colors.  So much fun.

DSC_0049 copy DSC_0051 copy DSC_0052 copy DSC_0055 copy

DSC_0060 copy DSC_0053 copy DSC_0059 copyThey all turned out so colorful and so beautiful.  I love how they looked outside hanging to dry.

DSC_0061 copy

And then we did an already dyed scarf, using stamps.  I decided to use wood stamps, that reminded me of India.

DSC_0064 copy DSC_0063 copy DSC_0068 copy DSC_0069 copyLots of fun.  I’m glad I decided to take a class (two) at the festival.  I’ve been there before, few times actually, but never taken a class.  I think I’d like to do it again next year.

DSC_0073 copyAnd one more round to see the stores, the vendors, the colors, the animals, the people, the baskets, the knitting, the spinning, the kids, the fibers, the sheep, the wool, the cheese, so, so very much.

DSC_0075 copy DSC_0077 copy DSC_0083 copy DSC_0084 copy DSC_0080 copy DSC_0085 copy DSC_0087 copySome tired kids at the end of the day.

DSC_0089 copy DSC_0092 copy DSC_0081 copy DSC_0090 copy DSC_0093 copy DSC_0094 copyThe sun came out at the end of the day.  Not hot, just warm enough to be comfortable. Everyone was outside enjoying what they do.  What a treat it was.  Now with few things I brought home, I can enjoy my scarves, the soap, the yarn and some fleece to spin.  I’m ready for the autumn months to come.

4 thoughts on “OFFF

  1. Katie October 4, 2014 / 9:40 am

    Looks like a wonderful day – so many good things to experience!

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela October 4, 2014 / 9:48 am

      Hi Katie. Yes it was a wonderful, filled day in so many ways. If you are in the area here next year, I recommend it. Not only for the classes, but the sights and all the wool and wool-goodness. Fun! Thanks for stopping by. Have a great weekend.

  2. Recombinant DNA October 6, 2014 / 2:46 pm

    Great photos! I was also there, but didn’t take any so I’m glad to be able to relive the fun.

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela October 6, 2014 / 3:28 pm

      Good! It was such a beautiful day, this year with sunshine even! And always so much. Isn’t it?
      Glad you can enjoy again a little both with these photos. Thanks for coming to visit.

Leave a Reply

