this week in my kitchen :: blog hop

Following Heather’s blog hop (from Beauty That Moves) I share here with you what happened in our kitchen this past week, since last Thursday.

“A weekly collection of photos from the center of my home.”       — Heather

I made lovage pesto, after our friend Mac suggested it.  He planted it when they were here last year, and it’s grown like crazy.  I followed this recipe, but I added lemon and more salt. I really liked it.  It turned out really good.

DSC_0001 copy DSC_0002 copy

Of course… I had to make this chocolate zucchini cake one more time.  Because we have few more zucchinis and we had to have a cake to say goodbye to September.  That deserves a cake, right?DSC_0006 copy DSC_0007 copy

Before our basil starts dropping its leaves, and with a freezer full of as much pesto as we will probably eat and share this winter, I’m giving a try drying it in the dehydrator.  It’s not done, so I’ll see how it turns out.  DSC_0485 copy DSC_0490 copyWe also have few kale leaves left in the garden.  I roasted it, dried it, in the oven for a little while with a bit of olive oil and salt.  In this picture you can see the kale wet too, so it’s not all olive oil.  It just has a little bit (a thin drizzle) and some salt.  Then it goes in the oven at 300F for about 25 minutes.  It was eaten in just few minutes after it came out of the oven.  Is that good!

DSC_0492 copyI had a helper this time to make our granola. The weather is cooler, so the oven has been on more times and we are enjoying it.  We are ready for some baking, and granola was one of the first things we’ve been missing baking. DSC_0494 copy DSC_0495 copy

I made this Pear Crisp by The Pioneer Woman.  I didn’t put as much sugar as she suggests, it turned out really good.

DSC_0021 copy DSC_0020 copy

DSC_0001 copyOur kitchen counter seems to be always full.  Full of empty jars to be cleaned for canning. Of full jars to be put away.  With jars of garden goodies.  Cucumbers and tomatoes in all sizes, shapes and form spread throughout the kitchen.  It’s good, but we are seeing an end. A little bittersweet feeling.  But can’t really complain, our garden has given us so much this year.  I feel thankful and rich.   DSC_0017 copyWe are enjoying salads with our tomatoes and basil from the garden.

DSC_0010 copyWe are spending a lot more time inside.  The kids are playing outside most of the day, but the meals are happening inside for the most part.  Lunches are still being spent outside, as much as we can.  But we had some rain, and it’s getting dark earlier, so we are gathering indoors for the meals.  We can feel the change in the season, but we are enjoying what we are being offered.  Eating inside comes with a special feeling too. I think we are ready to be moved indoors a little more.  It’s been a fun, good, delicious, amazing summer for us.  I am also feeling thankful and grateful for that.

DSC_0015 copyI made a tomato puree after remembering reading something on Amanda’s post (from SouleMama) a long time ago.  I remember she roasted tomatoes, so I found a recipe on The River Cottage Preserves book, that seemed like the recipe she may use.  I just needed a new recipe to use all the tomatoes we’ve harvested from our garden lately.  We have enough canned tomatoes, enough tomato sauce, and I tried Heather’s salsa (I posted last week), and wanted something else, something new.  I can’t wait to try all these new recipes!

DSC_0022 copyFor the jars with Heather’s recipe.

DSC_0483 copyThis is what our kitchen looks like most days lately.  And I am definitely not complaining, I’m just thinking we’ll need a new cupboard to keep these. I think we do.

Please do go to Heather’s blog and get inspired with all the food making that has been happening all over.  It is lots of fun to see and get new ideas.  Happy Thursday to you my dear friends!

2 thoughts on “this week in my kitchen :: blog hop

  1. Joy October 2, 2014 / 11:22 am

    We love granola at our house too. I’ve been making double or triple batches lately.

Leave a Reply

