this week in my kitchen :: blog hop

This week we had some making mostly in the form of meals, not as much in canning and preserving.  With friends, in family, forgetting to take pictures.  That’s OK.

Following Heather’s blog hop (from Beauty That Moves) with what’s been happening at our home.

“A weekly collection of photos from the center of my home.”       — Heather

DSC_0007 copy DSC_0009 copyApple oven pancake.  It’s a recipe I’ve had from a friend from 10+ years ago.  It is so good,  especially with the apples from the backyard when just picked.  Yum!  (Note: I’ll go ahead and share the recipe with you, even though I can’t trace back where my friend got it from.  Just wanted to make sure I gave credit to those who own this delicious making.)


Baked Apple Pancake

2 large eggs * 1 cup milk * 1 Tblsp honey * 1 Tblsp softened butter * 2 Tblsp wheat germ *  1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour * 1/4 cup soy flour or powder * 1 large apple peeled * 1 Tblsp sugar * 1/4 tsp cinnamon *

  • Preheat oven to 450 F.
  • Generously spray a 10-in skillet with non-stick spray.
  • In a bowl combine eggs, milk, honey and butter.
  • In another bowl sift together the flours and/or soy powder and wheat germ.
  • Combine two mixtures and blend well.
  • Core apple and cut into wedges in a bowl.  Sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon. Combine.
  • Pour batter into skillet and arrange apple wedges evenly on top.
  • Cook for 20 minutes, then reduce temperature to 350F and cook for another 10 minutes.  Or until golden and center is set and the edge is puffed.
  • Serve immediately.
  • Sprinkle powder sugar and add drops of lemon if you’d like.    Enjoy!

 

DSC_0010 copyGrapes from our friends and neighbors.

DSC_0062 copyI guess we did do some canning. Tomatoes and tomato sauce still all from our garden.  And I love it that Siena helps us with lots of it. 

DSC_0071 copyPears in the dehydrator.  They are good fresh and so good dry as well.  It will be nice to have some summer to taste come winter.

DSC_0008 copyBeans from the garden.  Mmm… I can almost taste that bean soup coming in few months.

DSC_0005 copyAnd loads of basil too. This time, turned into pesto and salad. Everyday we are picking basil and tomatoes.  It’s good.  Good summer goodness.

And my mom didn’t send me a photo of the empanadas they were making.  Today is Chilean Independence Day and my parents in Chile, are going to the lake house and meet with one of my brothers and all of their kids and wife and partners. A big gathering and celebration with great food, I am sure.  Feliz 18!

2 thoughts on “this week in my kitchen :: blog hop

  1. Erin September 18, 2014 / 5:32 pm

    That apple oven pancake looks divine. Can you share the recipe perhaps? I’m doing a monthly brunch (first Sunday every month), and that looks like it would be great to do.

    Felices fiestas!

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela September 18, 2014 / 9:54 pm

      Hi Erin. Yes I can probably put the recipe on the post… I am just not sure where my friend got it from. Wanted to make sure I gave credit to those who deserved… but too many years to trace back. So, I’ll go ahead and post it. It is really good! Let me know how it goes. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

