last week…

DSC_0084 copy

Last week… what a week it was.  Oh my, it’s been such an amazing summer, few months of real fun and beauty.  Now, I can see and I can feel the cooler days, but not just yet.  Last week…

… we went to the lake to have a good swim.  Now I feel like I can say goodbye to summer and welcome autumn (my favorite season) with open arms (and a hat and a sweater if I have to.)  It was a day of fun with friends, and a beautiful day.  The most amazing sight. Oh how I love water.

DSC_0077 copy DSC_0082 copy DSC_0079 copy DSC_0085 copy

… got together for dinner with our most favorite 3 year old ever.  Few times.  Oh how we love they live in town now.  So much fun!

… Siena started with swimming practices.  Her world is back to normal again.

… started our formal homeschooling, with new pencils, new books, new ideas, and a new unit.  Ancient Rome it is.  We are excited.  And yes, new classes and activities starting up as well.  We are ready for a new (home-school) year!

DSC_0087 copy DSC_0089 copy DSC_0093 copy DSC_0095 copy

… we got a new computer.  I am so excited!  No more “start up disk is full” notice, or shutting off the internet suddenly, or waiting for the wheel to stop spinning.  I am excited!  Besides it’s a big screen and maybe now we can all see the pictures together and seeing all the pretty ones on the screen!  It is much brighter and much more clear.  I love it.  The only thing is the large screen sitting on the desk.  Not sure I like the looks of it.  But heck… to get a better screen you have to have it sitting somewhere, right?

… went to the bluff by the river few blocks away, last Friday night at midnight after learning it was going to be the best evening to watch the northern lights (maybe) in Portland.  Well?  Not sure I got to see them.

DSC_0001 copy

I just might have to go to Alaska, or Greenland or Finland, one of these years.  I think I’ll have to.

… we had a windy day and the leaves (and branches) flew everywhere.  They are still on the ground, giving the feeling of fall.  As if fall had just come in that day.  I am here to stay and do I love it!  Need to get those winter boxes out and see what clothes the kids still fit in from few months ago.  This is when we see how much they’ve grown.  Let’s see!

… we talked about all the places we’d like to take our said favorite-est 3 year old this fall.

 

… we enjoyed all the tomatoes and basil and green beans and potatoes and eggplants and cucumbers from the garden.  Still loads coming! I think it is our best year yet.  So good.

DSC_0075 copy

… I received my Taproot magazine. The Mend issue.  I am excited.  I carry it around.  Even if I haven’t started it, I love seeing the covers, and looking through the pages… anticipating the goodness.

… sunflowers.  Yes, I need to get some sunflowers.  I miss them.  I haven’t had any this year, and I love having a bouquet in our living room at the beginning of fall.  They are amazing.  I love to watch their details.  Need to get to the island to pick some.

… made apple oven pancakes, apple crisp, ate apple sauce, and have dried apples too. And we have bought our first apples too.  Apple season is on us.

…played.

DSC_0004 copy DSC_0005 copy DSC_0011 copy

DSC_0002 copy

… we had hot days but it cools off at night.  It’s not the summer heat.  Bit they say today is going to be 96 again.  We’ll see.  If not maybe we’ll make it to the river one more time.

… we celebrated a birthday with a new teenager friend.  Now this year, most of our younger friends will be teens.  It seems not long ago we were having baby playgroups at each other’s homes.  They do grow up indeed.

… and yesterday also, we celebrated (from far away) my brother’s birthday as well.  I miss him.

… watched Lucas play baseball.  Fall ball it is. One game a week but much longer than the ones he’s played before.  Some old friends, most new ones.

DSC_0004 copy DSC_0015 copyLoving every minute of it.

DSC_0008 copyMark coaching from the side line.

DSC_0010 copyThis time, the youngest cousin watching him play.  And friends and family rooting for our best baseball player in the house.  In our books, it can’t get any better than that.

… felt lucky.  Yes, so lucky to live in this part of the country. Oh fall… I love feeling it.

Leave a Reply

