making : another (upcycled) bag + doilies

After I made the other bag last month, I found one I wanted to cover up the words and add a little “something” to it.

DSC_0084-small

As you can see from my pile, I have this thing for doilies.  Crocheted one, or tattling, those little hand stitched pieces that no one really uses anymore.  I know.  They gather dust, they get stained, they get wrinkled and buried under books…

DSC_0085-small DSC_0087-small

But if I see them at a garage sale or at the thrift store I want to bring them home.  I don’t know how to make them, but I have lots of them.  A lot of them from my mom and my Omi.  But these… these that I’m using to sew into bags are going to be taken to a thriftstore and if no one saves sees them they’ll head to the landfill.  A terrible thing for many reasons.

Some are handmade, and so beautiful.  Others are store bought, but they are still good for working with.

DSC_0088-small DSC_0089-small

They do a great job at covering the words of those bags with stores, businesses or conferences I’ve never gone to but I like the bag.

DSC_0090-small

And because there’s plenty of them in my stash, both sides can get covered easily!

And because doilies are… well…. doilies after all!  They made me think of this episode of Portlandia.  Funny!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFdq-8wwNeM

2 thoughts on “making : another (upcycled) bag + doilies

  1. Tracey April 26, 2014 / 3:27 pm

    You are so talented! I love your doily bag.
    Hope you are enjoying a great weekend.

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela April 27, 2014 / 6:15 pm

      Hi Tracey. Thank you. Now, I am looking at all of our bags to see which one needs an uplift… it has been fun and it makes me feel better to finally use these doilies.

Leave a Reply

