last week…

Yes, last week was filled with doing, making, excitement, playing, and lots of catching up. Last week:

… I was sadden with yet another tragedy in Chile.  A second time around for Michelle Bachelet in presidency, and she continues having to deal with major natural disasters.  But I know Chile is strong and people help each other when there is a need.

… it was sad to hear also that Gabriel García Márquez passed away last Thursday.  I saw this beautiful post and art by Lisa Congdon in his honor.  And she happily let me post her drawing here in my blog (Thank you Lisa!)  Look at how beautiful it is!

Posted with permission from Lisa Congdon.
Posted with permission from Lisa Congdon.

… I found this video.  A much uplifting one.

… we had swimming and baseball practices.

… I found that either the fairies visited or they are doing spring cleaning too.

DSC_0342-small

… we finished the kidsswap. With more than a dozen of packages being mailed throughout the country to different ages of kids, from 18 months until 12 year olds I feel like it was a success and I’ve heard from most moms and they had a blast participating.  I think we’ll have to do this again.

… I cleaned some drawers in the kitchen, trying to clean up and declutter a little.  My spring energy is getting me to have a little more wiggle room around here.

… I noticed the different colors in the foods we are making.

DSC_0046-small

… and I aso noticed the colors outside my window too.  With the dogwood blooming right now, almost at its peak, the pink hue pours through our kitchen window making it a beautiful pink inside.

DSC_0041-small

… we have the rosemary bush blooming purple flowers too, and Mark’s new plant he put right outside our kitchen window last year, is blooming for the first time.  Beautiful!DSC_0253-small DSC_0254-small

… and I noticed the colors on the table as well.

DSC_0022-small

… Mark planted a little.

DSC_0287-small DSC_0293-small

… I saw my kids lift up to the sky… I wonder if it feels a little free, and light up there… I wonder.

DSC_0131-small

… went to the amusement park.

… Siena made daisy necklaces.

DSC_0295-small

… there was lots of playing.

DSC_0007-small

… had a special visit.

DSC_0175-small

… we stayed up late playing with my Scrabble partner.

DSC_0174-small

… we celebrated.  Can there be a better way to celebrate all these kids’ hard work in a swim team than an ice cream banquet?

DSC_0076-small

DSC_0052-small DSC_0056-small

DSC_0045-small

These beautiful words sum up what the coaches see on Siena on this, her first year in the swim team.

DSC_0067-small DSC_0060-small DSC_0042-small

And we were there to celebrate with her.

Leave a Reply

