noticing at home

It is news like the last earthquake and tsunami in Chile three days ago that shake my world.  I am aware that it happens all the time.  It happens all over the world, to lots of people, not just earthquakes, much more, much worse, much different.  It’s hard.

My family is OK.  It is hard to be so far away though, but thanks to technology, it’s a lot easier than years ago, to communicate and hear from them.  Even last time they had the earthquake and tsunami (two years ago) when their power went out (because the epicenter was much closer to my parent’s and my brothers’ home) they were able to email me minutes later, from their cell phones.

But sometimes in the day to day in my life, I get comfortable and start to take things for granted.  And though it is comfortable, I like it when I am aware of my life.  When I am aware of how lucky I am to have the people I have around me, how lucky I am to have the life that I have.  I am so very lucky.

DSC_0019-small

I have noticed, actually, have tried to notice every day.  I don’t want to miss things.  I don’t want to take for granted too many things.  I want to make sure I pay attention to my day.  I want to pay attention to my kids, my husband, my friends, my family, my home, my garden, my neighbors, nature.

Like these bushtits singing and flattering about right outside my window yesterday.  Their little chirping, communicating with each other, loving each other.

DSC_0013-small DSC_0014-small DSC_0017-small DSC_0018-small DSC_0021-small DSC_0022-small(please ignore the dirt specs in my window…)

I don’t want to take for granted all the hugs I get from my Lucas throughout the day.  Or that we are still enjoying the apples we dried last fall.

DSC_0004-small

We have this little shelf with small drawers that keeps our placemats, napkins, essential oils and other little things.  The napkin drawer is full.  I love cloth napkins, and we have lots of them.  Different colors, different sizes, different materials, from different places.  But when we wash and fold and have to put them away, if they are all clean, they barely fit.  So we push and shove, to make them fit in that little drawer. (OK, it’s a normal size drawer, I just have too many napkins.)

DSC_0004-small

When we do this, the drawer’s bottom comes off its groove and then every time you open it, it also opens the drawer underneath (where the placemats are.)  We don’t always need to open both drawers at the same time, right?  So, we fix the bottom part, but many times, it just stays like that.  And everyone comments when we get napkins, “oh yeah… we should fix the drawer again, it came off.”  And someone will fix it at some point.  Once again.

DSC_0003-small

But this time, the time that has worked the best of all times, it was Siena who had a great idea.  A rubber band.  Not sure how she attaches but now, no matter how many napkins we have in there, it keeps it tight and working.  No more “double opening. ” Just how they are suppose to open.  One at a time, when you need them.  (And I know, even if it is a great fix, I should thin out the napkins.)  And I am grateful of little acts like this, because we are all living together.

DSC_0006-small

I notice that Lucas carries his Inuit pillow I made him for Christmas.  He brings it down every morning.  Leaves it with me in bed every morning, after he wakes me up and we snuggle for a while.  Sometimes he carries it with him until breakfast time.  He goes back up to his room at night, to snuggle him at night.  Every night.

DSC_0349-small

I notice, shoes by the door.  I notice one swim bag ready to go.  They are always ready.

DSC_0002-small

Yes, I also notice the shoes by the back door as well.

DSC_0353-small

I notice the unmatched placemats. Left over lunch. Kisses for treats. Magazines. Probably not a beautiful blog photo of our table setting, but fun to see our real days.  Our house is lived.

DSC_0001-small

I notice the piles of books in the living room, ready to be read, ready to return to the library, ready to put in the basket.  They are all there handy.  As well as the Legos.  Handy too, of course.

DSC_0020-small

I notice and enjoy a warm chai in the morning.  Sometimes in the afternoon too.

DSC_0317-smallI notice the wine.  The tea.  The compost bin full.  The flowers.  The broken teapot lid.  The gifted chocolate.  The fruits.  The clean sink.  The beauties of having a home to spend my days in, live and grow together,  and raise our family.

6 thoughts on “noticing at home

  1. Lisa Sheldon April 4, 2014 / 5:37 am

    Lovely post Marcela! Glad to hear that your family is okay. They were my immediate thought when I heard the news on NPR. XXOO

  2. Tracey April 4, 2014 / 10:11 am

    I love stopping by for a visit Marcela and have to tell you this is my favorite post ever!
    I’m so glad your family is okay, I know how hard it is to be away from extended family, my family isn’t here either. I knew long ago that I would never have a ‘magazine’ home, we live in our home and since we homeschool and are self employed there is always something going on, that’s the way I like it. My children describe our home as comfortable 🙂 I have a thing for cloth napkins too, in fact I just bought more material to sew a few new ones since a few had to be retired due to holes.
    Enjoy a beautiful weekend.

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela April 4, 2014 / 1:08 pm

      Thank you Tracey for your kind words and thank you for sharing your day with me, in this little space. I think “homeschool home”, “work home”, “comfortable home”, “not magazine not” are all synonyms and beautiful and means is a place that is live in. It can’t get any better than that! Right? Have a wonderful weekend you too and hope there’s lots of “living”! 🙂

  3. Katie April 4, 2014 / 12:02 pm

    Well said. I am trying to be more aware this year, of everything in my life. Our compost bin is full too – that’s a good thing, means lots of homemade healthy cooking going on! 😉

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela April 4, 2014 / 1:04 pm

      Hi Katie. Thank you. Thank you for stopping by and thank you for giving me a little of your day. Yes, I think full compost bins are a good thing, indeed!

Leave a Reply

