making : food

I found the link to this Martha Stewart applesauce cake recipe on Pinterest.  I’ve made it a couple of times, and it is so good!

DSC_0052-small

For Christmas Mark and Lucas gave me a pizza stone.  I’ve never had one before, and I wasn’t sure how to use it.  I don’t really make pizzas at home either, I don’t have a good recipe I guess.  It’s always soggy, not cooked enough, or burnt, or too chewey… not sure I know how to cook it.  DSC_0039-small

But with this stone, I tried one recipe, and it was OK.  Not the best, but it looked pretty before baking it!  So I will keep trying.

But for now, we are using the stone for other baking.  Mark has been making calzones with different fillings that have turned out really good.

I found the best bread recipe ever.  It’s from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day.  I’ve been making a big batch to keep in the fridge, then pull a baseball size dough from the jar, pop it in the oven, and voila! Warm, home made bread for dinner.  I am trying to make it more whole wheat, but maybe I need to find another recipe to try.

DSC_09-small

After getting my wonderful package from the craft swapping we did last month, we tried to make the toffee Tracey sent us.  And even though it’s good, I don’t think I waited long enough to raise the temperature high enough.  It wasn’t like the one Tracey made, we are going to have to try again.

DSC_0040-small DSC_0041-smallBecause it is so good!

DSC_0367-small

Not sure where I got the link from or where the recipe is from for this cake.  Need to go back to my recipes and find out, because it’s either from Pinterest or it’s on a piece of paper in my kitchen.  Even though I made the meringue sheets smaller than they said in that recipe, it was too big of a cake for us.  We ended up leaving more than half, and by the next day it was too soggy and not many of us liked it any more.  It’s definitely a crowd cake.  Not a little something special for tonight kinda’ dessert.  Or maybe, even smaller sheets.  Yes.  That might be better.

DSC_0002-small

Another night, we made dumplings, pot stickers.  Though we’ve done them before, we used this recipe this time.

DSC_0006-small

We sauteed them in a little oil, but I didn’t want them that crunchy, so I added few tablespoons of water instead, put a lid and let them cook for about 4-5 minutes.  I think they turned out good.  The kids loved making them and eating them!  Always a good thing.DSC_0008-smallIt’s a fun dinner.  We’ll be making some more, I would like to find more recipes with different fillings.  I’ll see what else we can come up.

What are you cooking these days?

One thought on “making : food

  1. Tracey March 19, 2014 / 10:51 am

    I love to play in the kitchen, it’s been a hobby since I was a little girl. I bake bread every week, I have a 16 year old who can eat a loaf a day.
    I hope you continue to use your pizza stone and play around with different recipes until you find one you like. I like to make homemade pizza with caramelized onions, blue cheese and mushrooms, drool!
    This week I made black bean brownies with avocado frosting, wasn’t bad.
    http://www.superhealthykids.com/healthy-kids-recipes/black-bean-brownies-and-dye-free-green-frosting.php

Leave a Reply

