A handmade kids swap + making (sewing)

Last month some women bloggers had a swap organized by Amanda from Sweet Potato Claire.  It was my first time, and I had so much fun!  Between the thinking, the planning, the making, the packaging… and of course the receiving! (I blogged about that incredible package at my door, few days ago.)

After I received and opened my beautiful package, Siena asked me if there was a kid swap. I had never noticed one in all the blogs I visit, but had never really paid attention. So I emailed Amanda and asked her if she knew of one.  She hadn’t, and so I went ahead and with her help, I’m organizing a kid swap for the next few weeks.

So, if you are a blogger and have kids that like to make things, and they want to exchange with other kids who like to make things, let me know as soon as possible!  I’m closing the list this Friday, March 14th.

So far we have 14 kids from 19 months old (of course with the help from her mama!) to 11 year olds, and from 9 different states.  We are excited to see how it will work out.  It’s been fun so far and I’m excited to see what Siena will make for her partner when we figure out who it is.  Email me if you have a a daughter or son who would like to swap handmade goods.  I think it will be lots of fun!

Before we decided to have a kids swap, we’ve been making.  These are some of the things we’ve made with fabric.

DSC_0197-small

Siena stitched this panda hoop all on her own. Design and stitches! Isn’t it pretty?

DSC_0195-small

She’s working on another project.

DSC_0593-small

And made this one too!

DSC_0041-smallI made some placemats with this (India theme) fabric I found.  So much fun!  I think I want to make an oven mitt and hot pads maybe.  I’m still thinking.

DSC_0023-small DSC_0024-small

Remember these foot rugs I made last year? I made these for Siena and a friend of hers from swimming, few weeks ago.  You know, it’s much more fun to dry your feet and get dressed after swimming with some color under your feet!  Are they foot rugs or foot rags?  Maybe foot quilts.

Jesse's Baby 1-small

I also made a blanket for a little baby friend that came to this world last month.

And this was some of the making I did for the blogger’s craft swap last month.  I don’t have more photos of what I sent.  Not sure why I didn’t but I did notice while on my blogging vacation that I didn’t pick up my camera as often.  I missed it.

DSC_0090-small DSC_0082-small

And in case you noticed… you just need to keep the scooters in the living room sometimes… not sure why, but they just appear there some days!  I try to over look at that. What have you’ve been making?  Or maybe… what have you found in your living room lately?

7 thoughts on “A handmade kids swap + making (sewing)

  1. Glendie March 11, 2014 / 5:40 am

    I LOVE your making!!!!

  2. Beulah March 11, 2014 / 8:41 am

    What a wonderful and fun thing to do………you guys are great!

  3. Tracey March 11, 2014 / 2:00 pm

    It’s going to be a great swap. I think it’s wonderful to get the children involved. I would have loved something like this when my babies were younger.

Leave a Reply

