last week…

Last week went by.  I don’t know where or how, but here we are celebrating the holidays.

… had a sick kid, but went away quickly.  Then the rest (three of us!) got sick the same day. Not fun, but hopefully that was it for a while.  Oh… the kids are much tougher than us adults.  It’s taken me waaaay longer to recuperate than them!  Mark suggested it might be the age (difference), but at least we are on this together, right Mark?

DSC_0011-small

… missed few playdates and a party because of mentioned illnesses.

… made some fun projects and some gifts we’ll share later.  With beeswax and sewing of all sorts… all the fun stuff. (Note: not all of these together.)

DSC_0013-small

… are still making gifts, because I still have another day, right? Almost 48 hours to be exact!

… went to see the lights at Peacock Lane.  And again… I wished I had taken a tripod… or maybe I should learn how to take photos at night.  Maybe that’s it! (A better tour in a few days.)

DSC_0050-small

… we hoped for snow, and we got few flakes falling but didn’t stay.  Hopefully soon.

… delivered some treats to someone special.

DSC_0019-small

… celebrated Winter Solstice with friends, with lots of dark beer, chocolate, and red wine and a fire.

… it’s always good to see friends.

… we decided we wanted to do a paper-free Christmas.  At least between us, we will use fabric bags.  I made fabric bags a few years ago that I always use, but the wrapping paper we’ve had for years (few rolls) we are all just used to using it.  So this year I made a whole bunch more Christmas bags (from old tablecloths) of different sizes and different colors, and we are going for it.

DSC_0016-small

… we also decided that even though a few of the presents already had tags (that we’ve also had for years in our Christmas box), we were going to use non-paper tags as much as possible. Or at least use the tags that I kept from years before. (OK. I know. I don’t know  if you are like me, but I keep gift tags hand written as a keepsake of their growing or from those we love.  Not all of them, but some each year.)

DSC_036-small

So far so good!  And it’s really lots of fun to see Lucas and Siena using the fabric bags like it’s the obvious thing to do.

… saw the sun shine a little bit here and there.

… the kids made cookies with Mark.  We’ll decorate them today.

DSC_0037-small

… thought we should send a New Year’s card maybe.  We will have to start by searching for a good photo of the four of us.  Will do that.  Maybe. Maybe for Valentine’s.

… I felt so grateful (and feel it every year) that Mark can have two weeks off to celebrate and rest at the end of the year.  One of the great perks of being a teacher.

… I felt lucky (I feel it every day) that Mark is this special person he is. Caring of early morning sick kiddos, breakfast making every weekend morning, driving to swimming, making dinners… oh how lucky I am.

… I saw and enjoyed the beautiful lights in our house, in our tree, in the neighborhood.  I do love December. You can feel the happiness, hear it in the singing and music everywhere, the colors, everyone happy, it makes up for the little light we get in our days.  It makes this season a bright one in many other ways.

DSC_0022-small

 

Leave a Reply

