preparing for the party

A couple of weeks ago we celebrated Lucas’s birthday with friends.  It was fun to think of all the possibilities.  I love it when Siena and Lucas discuss their parties.  These are some of their conversations I heard.

Should I have a theme for the party? I want a Star Wars party.  No, maybe a Minion party. Have all my friend seen it? What would the cake be? What games should we play? Mamá can you make a Yoda cake? How about Gru?  Do I want to have a piñata?  Will Mamá put candy inside? Maybe I want a prize bag at the end of a scavenger hunt.  A long scavenger hunt that goes to the park even!  Maybe I’ll have a random party or maybe a movie party.   Maybe I’ll just play and do whatever I want. (Yes my little guy, that’s the point… do whatever you’d like.)

I comment in between their conversations as the party day approaches… I can make you a Death Star piñata if you’d like?” Lucas replies to this with “But how come you made a ballerina and a panda piñata for Siena’s birthdays?  You can make a harder shape, can you?  Mmm… but a Death Star would be fun!”

DSC_0066-small DSC_0087-small

And so it was.  We did all of this.  Some things different.  Some of the same and a little more.

DSC_0076-small

We had a plan.

DSC_0068-small

Siena worked on the cupcakes, with a bowl full of eyes… fun!

DSC_0073-small

And Lucas wanted to decorate his cake this year.  He knew exactly how he wanted it.

DSC_0067-small DSC_0072-small DSC_0077-small DSC_0079-small

And we had everything for it.

DSC_0084-small

It was perfect!

Leave a Reply

