Making : With glass

DSC_0014-small

Thinking my mom would like to go back to work with glass I scheduled a visit for us and some friends with the artist we know, Kurumi Conley. She opened her studio for us to play with glass.

DSC_0017-smallRemember the mushrooms I photographed and shared a couple of days ago?  They look so pretty all throughout her yard.  What a beautiful way to add color when Portland, starts to get gray.

DSC_0018-smallAnd look at this piece!  I love those blue colors.

DSC_0021-smallKurumi showed u her studio, her kiln and how it works to make these beautiful pieces of glass.

DSC_0068-small

DSC_0069-smallAnd then we went to work.

DSC_0023-smallWe looked in her show room for some of the pieces she has for sale, and for some inspiration.

DSC_0024-small DSC_0026-small DSC_0028-small DSC_0029-small DSC_0030-small DSC_0031-small DSC_0033-small

We all found something we liked and that wanted to do.  So we went to work!

DSC_0022-smallThe display of colors… oh… so beautiful!  They look like candy too.

DSC_0077-small DSC_0066-small DSC_0067-small

We worked and had so much fun playing with the colors, the shapes, the thicknesses, the types of glass… a fun way to spend a morning.

DSC_0032-small DSC_0036-small DSC_0045-small DSC_0038-small DSC_0047-small DSC_0051-small DSC_0043-small DSC_0037-small

DSC_0060-small

And Kurumi is great too.  She had a beautiful work table set for us.  Who wouldn’t want to work here? Look!

DSC_0078-small DSC_0035-small DSC_0041-small DSC_0068-small

If you live in Portland and are wondering what to do one day, with kids or just mamas, or a group of friends… I’d recommend you emailing Kurumi and seeing if you can go over and play with glass.  It will lift your spirit even in those rainy, gray Portland days.  If it’s not the colors on the table, it will be for all the possibilities of what you can make in just a couple of hours.  I know.  I wish I could have made one of everything she had displayed.

DSC_0062-small

I think we are going back soon.  The kids had a blast, and I want to make the rest!

DSC_0039-small DSC_0040-small

These are some of the things we made.

DSC_0048-small DSC_0055-small DSC_0057-small DSC_0058-small DSC_0072-small DSC_0074-small DSC_0076-small DSC_0080-small

I don’t have the pictures of what they look in the final product.  She’s going to fire them and let us know when to pick them up.  We can’t wait to see how they all turned out!

DSC_0079-small

I’m telling you.  If you are from around here, you should go and make all sorts of glass beauties. Email Kuruki.  She’s such a nice person you’ll have fun, I’m sure!  And actually, if you are going, let me know too. I’d love to go play with glass some more.  I still have few pieces I didn’t get to make that day.

Leave a Reply

