Last week…

Last week…

… I loved and laughed a little with Lucas when he got so excited when I thought that next day he’d probably need a bigger blanket on top of his bed.  It is getting cooler at night.  He smiled as if it was a grand prize.

… I also love cooler weather, and I also got ready for cooler evenings.  So I washed the curtains in the house to take the last air of summer, and a bit more sunshine to dry them outside.  Now, we have a little fresh air indoors to last us for the winter months.

… found this perfect post by Erin from Homespun Life on canning tomatoes.  Love it!  Why canning tomatoes is like being in labor. I agree completely.

… I made a couple of batches of chai concentrate.  I got the idea from Heather from Beauty that Moves, and I make a recipe very similar to hers, depending on what I have on hand.  I love chai in cooler days. I’m excited to have it every day once again.  Oh… the simple things in life.  Love it!

… thrifting, we found most of Lucas’s Halloween costume pieces to get closer to a complete look.  And found the material for Siena’s.  The kids are excited.  They are already playing with them and having lots of fun.

… laughed so hard when I found some of these photos on Pinterest.

55577d7f47de71c4f5a62eadf610898c

Oh!  And this one!

5321c6821ccf4ca9500f3fbab8da994a

Maybe this one not so much true anymore…. but oh yes… that’s what I thought when everyone went back to school and we had the beach to ourselves and the days were over 70!   I’d say it’s the perfect rule to go by when you homeschool.

3a39d5d4268521235717b3f659117435

… we started getting ready for my parents coming to visit this week.  We are excited!

… I heard the geese flying by.  Few times.

… the kids played outside until dark.  The sun still shining, weaker, but while still not wet.  We are coming in earlier every day, as it gets dark earlier, but it feels like a long day anyways. They are still full of life.

DSC_0002-small

… we started picking most of our veggies from the garden.  It’s feeling like we need to get the beds cleaned before the cooler weather gets the last of the tomatoes and basil.  What we have left.

… we played with friends.  So much fun.

… Siena, as she’s done all summer, weighted and picked the veggies from the garden.  She’s been so intent in picking and taking care of the plants.  It’s been such a great help and so beautiful to see her this involved.

DSC_0076-small

… we picked from the garden:

  • 20 3/4 lbs tomatoes
  • 1 3/4 lbs green beans
  • 5 cucumbers
  • 2 bell peppers
  • 6 cups basil
  • 1/4 raspberries
  • 2 yellow squash
  • 6 delicata squash

… we canned:

  • 5 quarts of tomato sauce.

… we fermented:

  • 2 lbs of green beans.  A new batch. Waiting to try.

… we dried:

  • 5 lbs of nectarines
  • 5 lbs of peaches
  • 2 lbs of pears
  • 5 lbs of tomatoes

DSC_0003-small

… talked to new families about homeschooling.  I enjoy being on this panel.  It makes me think of how we are doing our homeschooling, share about our days, think of their questions and how we’ve come this far, this long.  sometimes with the same concerns, many times from a different beginning.  But always, we end up talking about the days and what it means to have your kids all day, every day.  I do love it (most days), and I feel lucky we can do this.  It’s been an honor to share so much time with my kids.  I’m glad we’ve decided to spend our lives like this.

… saw the full moon.  The Harvest Moon.  On a clear night, I love it.

… I saw autumn arrive.  We were working in the art studio, when we heard the leaves shuffle around outside with the wind.  Siena said: “I love fall.”  Yup!  Me too.

… I heard Siena’s dreams for when she grows up.  I love listening to what they are thinking and dreaming about.  I love it so much.

DSC_0019-small

… I got to spend a few hours with a three-week old little baby girl.  Someone so, so special to us.  I held her and watched her for an hour or two.  Just the two of us, talking, smiling, making beautiful baby sounds, and I held her until she fell asleep.  And I watched her and felt her breathing.  And watched her the whole time, just her beautiful little person I was lucky to spend my afternoon with.

DSC_0065-small

DSC_0010-small sepia

She’s a beautiful, beautiful little girl.  I feel so lucky.

Leave a Reply

