Last week…

Oh last week was a full week.  A full week, different than it was in the middle of the summer.  This was different.  Last week:

… Lucas lost another tooth.

DSC_0117-small

… I found this chicken sweater and loved it.  Wish we had chickens.

… we are excited a good friend of ours is starting to homeschool.  Love it!

… we picked sunflowers and other flowers in a farm and have enjoyed them at home and shared them with friends.  Love, love sunflowers!

DSC_0007-small DSC_0008-small

… we had fun swimming and hanging out by the river.

DSC_0086-small

… we missed Mark while he started work again and we are still winding down our summer.

… Mark made 12 meals and wrapped and froze them.  So now we can just pop them in the crock pot or the oven whenever we want to.  They are marinating, and ready.  Such a great idea for this time when our days are getting busier with everyone’s activities.  I’m so glad he did it.  Thank you, thank you, oh my!

DSC_0020-small DSC_0018-small

… we picked from our garden:

  • 10 lbs of tomatoes
  • 2 cups of basil
  • 2 zucchinis
  • 8 cucumbers
  • 1/2 lb green beans
  • 1 bell pepper

… we canned:

  • 15 quarts of tomato sauce.

DSC_0003-small

… we’ve been enjoying the fermented pickles and dilly beans.  So good!  but I need fridge space now… now, that’s becoming the problem.

… I went thrifting with friends, and Siena came along for part of it, and found great treasure I’m super excited about.

DSC_0013-small DSC_0011-small

this one is especially fun, since Siena has been wanting to make baskets, and I’ve always wanted to do it too!  Maybe we’ll learn better this year.

DSC_0012-small

… and I’m especially excited about this great find.

DSC_0015-small

 

Yes!  A new (to us) spinning wheel for just $25.  I couldn’t believe it, and couldn’t pass it.  And I’m so excited it fit in the car together with all of our camping bags and boxes we had that weekend.  (Thank you Mark for doing your magic in packing the car!)  This will be perfect for us to have another spinning wheel to teach Siena and Lucas in.  I’m excited! Can you tell?

… I loved the freedom of homeschooling and hearing my kids still laugh and play outside.

… I made two apple crisps with the last of our apples.  One for us, and one for our friends who have a beautiful new addition to their family.  We are all very excited for them, after many, many years of waiting and planning.

… I received a new cookbook to try.  Will share more when I decide and try something from it.

… we went to the “Not Back to School” (homeschool day) at our amusement park.  The kids had lots of fun.

… I got a flat tired in my bike (though not too far from home) and after weeks thinking we should all learn how to change a tire because you never know.  Yup!  You never know when you are going to need it.  I just walked home.

… we got a taste of autumn, when the rain came in buckets during one night.  Now, we are back to summer-like weather.  But you can feel autumn is just around the corner.  You can just feel it.

… we bought a coconut and had it as we did in India.

DSC_0022-small

It amazes me how many memories we have from our months in India, and how very often it comes up in our days here back home, even after 2 years later.

Hope your week was beautiful and full with what you like, and this coming one, a great one getting started.

 

2 thoughts on “Last week…

  1. Laurie geren September 9, 2013 / 8:08 pm

    Wow Lucas another tooth missing!,,
    Chicken sweaters maybe our new three silkies (Lavendar) would feel warmer
    Love g

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela September 11, 2013 / 7:08 pm

      Hi Laurie. Yes. Lucas is getting “big teeth.” They are both really grown up. I know, those chicken sweater look super cute! And I bet it would help for the cold winters up there.

Leave a Reply

