A week of making : Rhubarb ginger jelly

The past week was busy, busy for us, making and preserving what we bring in from the garden.

With some rhubarb from the garden and a new preserving book from the library, I found a new recipe to try this year.  Rhubarb and Ginger Jelly.

The book is called Home Canning and Preserving by Jane Cooper, and has lots of good foods.  But this one seemed easy enough with what we had already.

DSC_0028-small

I always keep fresh ginger on hand, I love it it’s so good for lots of things.  Ours started to grow a green shoot… I wonder if we can plant it.  I might try it to see what happens.

DSC_0029-small

It’s not a hard recipe, AND I got to use my new jelly strainers again.  Two good things I’d say.

DSC_0030-small

I guess I don’t find any of the preserving too hard.  Maybe I don’t make the hard recipes.  But I find it easy to follow a recipe, and make it step by step. It is mostly the time it takes to make things from scratch the hard part.  I understand.

And I guess, a willing spirit to try something new once in a while! Thank you my dear little family.  You are a trooper! When I hear “what’s this Mamá?” I like sharing what’s cooking (or fermenting or canning or brewing).  And it is especially fun when it comes together with “mmm… that’s good!”  A lot better than the “no, I don’t want to try it, thanks…” with a questioning voice.

DSC_0031-small

DSC_0034-small

So, with this new recipe in few jelly jars, we’ll see what we all think.  We haven’t tried it yet.  Will report later when we do.

4 thoughts on “A week of making : Rhubarb ginger jelly

  1. ConfessionsOfAnImperfectHomeschooler August 27, 2013 / 6:21 am

    Oh myyyyy I LOVE ginger and rhubarb…BOTH are awesome for your digestive system🙂

    Ginger (if you didn’t know) is a GREAT tool to combat nausea! From morning sickness to chemo it WORKS and I can tell you from personal experience!

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela August 27, 2013 / 8:57 am

      Hello. I do love ginger for many reasons and love it. When I found this recipe I thought I had to give it a try. The recipe asks for powder ginger and I used fresh ginger because I had it. It tastes really good, I think! And yes I also used it for morning sickness with both of my kids. Ginger has lots of great qualities. Love it!
      Thanks for coming to see this little space of ours.

  2. Monica August 28, 2013 / 3:11 pm

    Harto trabajo pero debe quedar rico , ya lo probaremos …. ¿ Como es la planta del jengibre ( ginger) ?

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela August 28, 2013 / 11:00 pm

      el gengibre es una raiz (creo.) El pedazo que tengo ahora le esta creciendo un pedazo, queria ver si lo puedo plantar para ver como es la planta. No se nada de la planta.

Leave a Reply

