Last week…

Last week was filled again of summer-ness.  Last week…

… I was in pain for few days with a sunburn from all the playing at the lake.

… I painted Lucas’s room.  From a darker multicolored room, to white with red trim.  We think it looks so pretty!  And Lucas does too.  I am so glad we could do that for him.

… I almost started to paint Siena’s room.  But I think we’ll leave it for later.  There’s more to it, since it has two doors, and is more space, I don’t think we have enough time for a redo.  We’ll keep thinking about it.

… we worked hard in filling up these shelves and freezer.

DSC_0037-small

… we had a sleep over.

… gathered with friends and watched Epic in the backyard.  I love it! Have I said that before? So much fun.

epic movie-small

 

DSC_0026-small

… I made zucchini bread and that delicious zucchini chocolate cake again.  Amanda was right!  You end up making it more than once.  Who needs another reason than share it with friends, for no other reason than to have cake!

… I made a new jelly.  Rhubarb-Ginger Jelly (more on that later this week.)

… I got the highest Tetris score I’ve ever had in my life.  (I wonder if I could add this to my resume.)  It is a ‘big accomplishment’ here at our household, but I think we should have celebrated it more. (Never mind that Mark got over 300 the other day.)

tetris my hightest score-small

But this is especially important since my top score was 193, just 3 weeks ago.  I think this is result of me having learned, grown and mature this summer.  I’ve improved my Tetris skills, immensely.  This is exciting to finish with such a big score for my last week of Tetris Camp” this year.  Good bye Tetris.  Our homeschool year is about to begin.  Now we’ve got serious computer work to do.  Thank you for letting me spend non-sense hours together this summer.  ‘Til next time.

… Mark canned few jars of peaches.

… Siena and Mark made so much apple sauce one day, they were exhausted and their hands tired.  Thank you, I know we’ll love them come winter.

DSC_01-small

DSC_02-small

… we picked lots more apples from the tree and the ground.  This year is a low year (thank goodness!) but still I’d like to try making something new.  Need to search some apple recipes. Urgent!

… we went to the pool to swim almost every day.  I wish they would keep the pool open for few more weeks.  If we could bring all the homeschoolers during the day, they would have enough people even after the kids go back to school!  And it is usually still hot.

… we saw how much Siena grew since the last week in May.  These are her pants she wore for Trackers, and they fit her just fine in May.  Now, three months later… capri style.  That’s about 3-4 inches from last spring.

DSC_0045-small

… we picked vegetables from the garden:

  • 4 1/4 lbs of rhubarb
  • 6 lbs tomatoes
  • 2 zucchinis
  • 5 lbs green beans
  • 6 cucumbers
  • 5 cups basil
  • 5 bell peppers
  • 1/2 lb raspberries
  • 4 yellow squash
  • 1 carnival squash

… we canned:

  • 20 quarts of apple sauce
  • 7 quarts of peaches
  • 9 1/2 pints of rhubarb-ginger jelly
  • 11 pints of pickled beans

… we fermented:

  • 2 lbs of Carolina style slaw
  • 2 lbs of sauerkraut (green cabbage)
  • 2 lbs of red sauerkraut (red cabbage)

More on these later this week.

… we decided what we wanted to start our ‘homeschool year’ with.  And all the classes we’d like to take and started to figure out what our new rhythm will look like.  We are excited!

… we celebrated our summer together and were thankful of the chance to have Mark at home for 9 weeks.  That is one beautiful perk of being a teacher.  We love it and we feel so very lucky.  Mark, is an amazing dad and husband and we are going to miss him now that he won’t be around all day with us.  Awesomeness in person.

… we also saw how much Lucas grew since last May, the last time he wore this coat… comfortably I must add.  Another 4 inches for this kid’s arms, I think!

DSC_0030-small

… we spent time at home, cleaning up, clearing up, re-organizing, readying our spaces for the fall.  I love this feeling of renewal.  It makes us feel ready for something new.

… we saw lots birds eating the seeds of the Evening Primroses we have in the front yard.  The bushtits came in groups and sat in the tall stems eating all the seeds.  I wonder if we can do something with these plants.

… I enjoyed the evenings getting cooler.  I feel the season turning.

… Lucas made a fire in the fire pit in the backyard.  Nice.

… Mark made pesto and we enjoyed it throughout the week in different meals.  More pesto to come!  Not quite like this menu for the week, but almost!

mid august menu-small

… I looked for new recipes to try to preserve the summer’s produce.

… we realized we want to plant dill in the garden next year.  We use lots of it.  I’m writing it down in our garden journal.

… Lucas and Mark picked and froze the last of the elderberries we need.  We should have enough to last us ’til next summer, I think.

DSC_0039-small

2 thoughts on “Last week…

  1. Monica August 28, 2013 / 3:13 pm

    ¡¡ Que hartas conservas !! ¿ las terminan durante el año ????? Déjanos alguna para el próximo mes …..

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela August 28, 2013 / 11:08 pm

      Hola Mama. Si, hemos hecho harto este anio. La huerta ha producido harto, rico. Y aun faltan los tomates que ya vienen madurando! Rico.

Leave a Reply

