Fermenting vs canning

DSC_0064-small

Last year I tried fermenting for the first time.  Mark gave me two crocks of different sizes, and I used some big jars, and fermented few vegetables.

DSC_0067-small

Cabbage, green beans and cucumbers.  I tried recipes from two books. Real Food Fermentation by Alex Lewin and Wild Fermentation by Sandor Ellix Katz.

And I also used cabbage.  I made sauerkraut from this older book by Kalus Kaufmann, Making Sauerkraut and Pickled Vegetables at Home, that I found in our library.  And another recipe from Real Food Fermentation by Alex Lewin.

DSC_0066-small

So this year I’m trying it again.  This time I’m hoping I’ll pay more attention to the crocks, by having them on the kitchen counter. The kids smell the fermenting starting to happen already. We’ve tried a cucumber starting to taste dilly.  And the beans, starting to taste better too.

DSC_0062-small

We’ll see how long they’ll take to be ready.  I’m excited again.  Mark gave me this new book for my birthday last fall, and I’m reading it now, a little at a time. The Art of Fermentation by Sandor Ellix Katz.  I like it, it has lots and lots of information.

DSC_0001-small

This year, as many other summers, we pickled cucumbers.  We love eating them and sharing them with friends, come the months when cucumbers are not growing in the garden.

DSC_0002-smallWe made a new recipe, from a new book.  We usually use the Ball Blue Book of Canning.  We bought it new when we decided to learn new recipes, back in 1999. I remember when we bought the book, out on Sauvie Island, at the Pumpkin Patch.  Funny.

DSC_0004-small

This year, we used a recipe from this book I found last summer. Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving by Judi Kingry and Lauren Devine.

DSC_0005-small

Now, with all of these jars full, we’ll just have to wait.  Give it time to pass to do their magic.  In a couple of months, we’ll try these canned pickles and see if the recipe is good, and if it’s better than the older one.  And if we prefer, or who prefers canned pickles, or fermented pickles.  That will be fun to see.

Do you have a favorite pickle recipe?

2 thoughts on “Fermenting vs canning

  1. Monica August 28, 2013 / 3:20 pm

    siiiiiii , yo tengo una receta del tío Claudio y me encantan los que él hace . Pregúntale a él ….

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela August 28, 2013 / 11:11 pm

      Hola Mama. Receta de que hace el Tio Claudio? Tambien asi fermentando? Tu tambien hacias en un frasco grande de vidrio, en la casa… te acuerdas? No me acuerdo que tenias ahi, pero me acuerdo del frasco.

Leave a Reply

