Writing on the wall

For a long time now, I’ve been wanting to have a quote on a wall in our house.  I thought maybe in the art studio, maybe in our bedroom or bathroom. But after I painted the kitchen last summer, I’ve been thinking.

DSC_0013-small

I’ve looked on Pinterest for ideas on how to put a quote on a wall.  For ideas on how to space it, the font to use, the colors… so many ideas out there.

We decided that the kitchen was a good place for a quote, and everyone liked the words I had picked.  Words by Mary Oliver, that have spoken to me.  I like her poetry, and I like this poem too.

So I went ahead and wrote one of my favorite lines from one of Mary Oliver’s poems.

DSC_0009-smallI first wrote it lightly with pencil.

DSC_0014-small DSC_0011-smallThen I wrote it with a thick marker.  Because our walls are bumpy, I don’t think the Sharpie showed very well.

DSC_0017-smallSo I went over the marker with black acrylic paint and a brush.  Now, I’m not sure if it’s too dark, too sharp.   I’m almost thinking it needs a little white wash on top or something to make it a little more settle.

DSC_0018-small

But now I don’t know if I should.  Because when Siena walked in after I had painted it, she was excited and said “oh Mamá, now our kitchen looks like one from a magazine! Like you paid someone to write that on the wall…”

So with those words coming out of my daughter, and these words now written in our walls, I leave you with the same question we’ve talked about in our family.  From The Summer Day by Mary Oliver.

“Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?”

 

 

One thought on “Writing on the wall

Leave a Reply

