Zucchinis

Zucchinis.  It almost seems it should be zucchinies.  It’s already hard enough to spell.  Who comes up with these words? In (Chilean) Spanish it’s called ‘zapallito italiano’ (Italian gourd.) Not sure the Italian relation there. In England ‘courgette’.

Anyways.  It is the season.  Its season.  And I know, as I’m typing this post, the zucchinis outside are growing even bigger.  And I’m sure we’ve missed some too, from the picking yesterday.

We missed a couple last week, and they turned into a 4 pound trophy, heavy enough to be carried by the littler hands at home.

DSC_0192-small

So, while the kids and Mark had gone camping I thought I’ll welcome them home (besides their clean bed and a warm shower) with a cake.  I don’t usually make cakes, but the two large zucchinis on the counter motivated me to look for a yummy recipe.

DSC_0191-small

I knew Amanda, from SouleMama would have made something.  She’s good like that, you know? So, I searched her blog and found a chocolate zucchini cake she said she made few times that summer.

DSC_0194-small DSC_0209-small DSC_0213-small

 

Oh my goodness.  It is so good!  I will make it again.

DSC_0193-small

And not only did I make a cake that day, I also made this zucchini bread from Smitten Kitchen.  Two loaves, and finished the first zucchini on our counter.

DSC_0212-small

 

More to come from the garden, I know, shared with friends and neighbors, and I’m thinking I might freeze some zucchini breads for in-the-moment summer yummyness (not a word? the computer doesn’t know… I won’t pay attention to the red wiggles under the word.)  Yes, total yummyness.

3 thoughts on “Zucchinis

  1. Monica August 12, 2013 / 8:04 am

    Guárdanos un poco de queque de zapallitos !!!

  2. Kelly August 13, 2013 / 10:11 pm

    My neighbor freezes shredded zucchini into pre measured ziplock bags so she can make bread all winter long! I may do that is year too.

Leave a Reply

