What my mom has been making

My mom has amazing talents.  For many years she’s been embroidering, and has been doing crewel.

Cuadros de la Mama - 1

In 2011, my brother and sister-in-law organized a show to share her art in a gallery in Valdivia, in Chile.  It was the year they had a massive earthquake.  They decided to go ahead and do the exhibition anyways, and add a little goodness to their world at that moment.  I am so glad they did.

She’s never done anything like that.  And I was sad to have missed it, being so far away, here.  But my brother shared videos and photos of the opening night.

As a kid, we were always an exhibit of her work.  She sewed clothes for us and all of my dolls; we were always wearing knitted items she made for us (and my dolls!) Or I’d carry a special bag she had made for me, or she’d make something for our rooms or homes.  She’s amazing.

Cuadros de la Mama - 2

And she just shared with me these pictures of her latest work.  Some done with yarn, others with thread.  I have no idea how she makes these, and all the patience and time she spends creating these.

Cuadros de la Mama - 3

She’s made everyone’s home in crewel.  My dad’s growing up.  Both of my brother’s and ours (actually we have two, from two different views… we are lucky!) and now she made this home.  Their home at the lake we’ve gone for almost 40 years.  So beautiful!

Cuadros de la Mama - 4

This one of a Chilean painter, Pedro Lira, called Carta de Amor (The Love Letter)

I just find them so beautiful, even in pictures.  I can’t wait to see them in person.

5 thoughts on “What my mom has been making

  1. Glendie August 10, 2013 / 11:30 am

    very, VERY nice!!

  2. Monica August 10, 2013 / 3:40 pm

    Se ven preciosos … realmente …. Thanks , Glendie for your praise …. I like to embroider crewl , specially , pictures of Chilean painters . Monica

  3. Kelly August 13, 2013 / 10:14 pm

    Her work is exquisite! Unbelievable that she can do this with thread!

Leave a Reply

