Making : With stinging nettle + some sort of tutorial

I wrote about when we went to pick the stinging nettle a couple of weeks ago, but now I have the pictures of what we made with all of it.

DSC_0200-small

1- I blanched the nettle and just chopped it in small pieces and froze it in ice cube trays.  After they were frozen, 12 hours or so, I placed them in a bag.  I like to use these in soups, or stews, sauces and meatloaves, or any other way I can add a little boost to our meals.

DSC_0194-small

DSC_0204-small

2- After blanching it, I also made pesto.  I made pesto last year and we finished it all.  Now we have some more!

DSC_0196-small DSC_0206-small DSC_0207-small

I followed Langdon Cook’s recipe from Fat of the Land.DSC_0211-smallAnd yes, as he says in his post, I ended up using a food processor.  We have a small one, so I had to do it in half batches, but it ended up great and smooth.  And well, I had no choice, since I burned the motor of my blender half way my first batch!

3- And third. The last of my attempts to keep the nettle is by drying it.

DSC_0226-small

We had lots to be dried and it was hard.  The day we picked the nettle was pouring raining, and so were the days following.  So I was a little concerned as to where to out them to dry.  But we made do.  And they took about a week to dry.  But it worked.

I picked the leaves by hand (they still sting a little, mostly the stems, but not too bad, I don’t think) and placed them whole in glass jars with lids to keep fresh.

DSC_0228-small

I also picked the leaves and chopped them up and my food processor, that way they use up less space in the jar. Not sure I find a difference when I make tea, but if they are small like this, I can also it in sauces and other foods, when I run out of the frozen cubes.  But it is mostly about saving space.

4- This one os for the future.  After blanching the nettle, it leaves this beautiful dark color water.

DSC_0215-small

It has to be good for something, right? Oh… I was sad to send it down the drain, but with all the nettle around, and just rain in sight, I just couldn’t take the time to figure out what to do.  I want to read more about it, and see if there’s something I can use this beautiful, dark, rich left over water.  Do you have suggestions?

Aaaahhhh… I feel so good of our bigger stash of stinging nettle this year.  I’m excited and glad we’ll have for more of our winter.

6 thoughts on “Making : With stinging nettle + some sort of tutorial

  1. Monica April 30, 2013 / 1:19 pm

    Marce , nunca he comido ortigas ¿ que gusto tienen? ¿ con que las blanqueas ? ¿ no pican al comerlas ? Dices que haces una especie de pesto ¿ que tal el gusto ? ¿ y las secas ? .- Aquí se usan como ” agüitas” o para los dolores reumáticos …. Voy a tener que probarlas ….

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela April 30, 2013 / 9:09 pm

      Hola Mama.
      Las pongo en agua hirviendo como por 1-2 minutos. Despues las pico y las pongo en el freezer. Lo pongo en las comidas como para darle mas vitamina C y gusto. Tambien las seco y las uso en comidas tambien, pero mas que nada en te. Super bueno para el sistema inmune. Y tambien, hago pesto. Tengo un enlace ahi para la receta del pesto. Es rico… lo puedes probar, hay que tener cuidado al tocarlos no mas. Dime que te parece.
      Carinos.

  2. Monica April 30, 2013 / 1:21 pm

    ¿ Que es ” tutorial ” ?

  3. Glendie May 1, 2013 / 4:28 am

    Ummmm…a cup of nettle tea would be YUMMY right now. Woke up to 32 degree temperatures. Doesn’t tea sound PERFECT? Thanks for the memories, Marcela!

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela May 1, 2013 / 2:26 pm

      Hi Glendie. We are having nettle tea today and I’m still not done putting the dried nettle away. Need to get doing that.

Leave a Reply

