Making : for swimming

One day Siena started taking some rags to her swimming.  I wasn’t sure what they were for, but in the shuffle of getting ready to leave and dinner figured out, I’d forget to ask what they were for.

One day, then I asked her what that not-too-pretty- rag was for in her swim bag, and she explained to me that she doesn’t like to step on the wet, dirty bathroom floor when getting dressed, so she steps on this rag instead.

I thought it was pretty clever, and glad to hear she had figured out how to make it work for her.  But oh…. those rags she was taking! Stained, left over pieces of other old rags.  Clean, but not too pretty.

So last week I made her one.

DSC_0002-small

The top was from left over pieces, some of them already cut from previous projects.  Made a pattern with what I had.

DSC_0004-small

I had a little piece of towel fabric (not sure the correct name for that type of fabric) that I found thrifting once (because you never know when you’ll need it, right?)

I sewed the pieces on the wrong side, and left a couple of inches for turning it.  Then I turned it, sewed around the edges, and a couple of lines in the ditch so the pieces wouldn’t shift too much.  And that’s it!

I put it in Siena’s swim bag one day, took the other scruffy rag out she had in there, and replaced it with this new, much prettier and just sewn foot rag.DSC_0005-small

That’s the day I also made her these waterproof bags for her swimsuit and flip flops.

DSC_0006-small

I got a hug and a thank you, after her swimming that day!

DSC_0031-small

Siena liked her new feet towel so much that she wanted to make another one.  She’s practicing three times a week, after all.  Now we can always have one clean for her to take.

DSC_0032-small DSC_0034-smallShe made her own design, and we sewed it the same way after all the colors and pieces were chosen.

She’s so excited.  She has now two pretty foot rags to step on when getting dressed, when the floor on the changing room at the pool is all wet and dirty.  You probably know what we mean.  Right?

2 thoughts on “Making : for swimming

  1. Little Sis March 10, 2013 / 5:48 am

    I LOVE this. And the waterproof bags are genius. Thanks from a 6 year old twins in swim class Mom.

    • NaturallyFunDays : Marcela March 10, 2013 / 8:17 pm

      Thank you Little Sis. And yes… the waterproof bags have been so great. My daughter loves it that she doesn’t have to carry plastic bags anymore and everything looks pretty (she says!) Thanks for coming to visit us here in this little space of mine.

Leave a Reply

