I’ll be there

DSC_0134-small

When you’re soarin’ through the air
I’ll be your solid ground
Take every chance you dare
I’ll still be there
When you come back down
–Nickel Creek

The first thing that came to my mind when I heard it for the first time it was Mark.  He’s amazing.  I’ve said it before here, I’ve said it ‘off line’, and I’ve said it to him many times.  But I also haven’t said it to him some other times. You know how sometimes you get in the routines of your lives and things get unsaid.

DSC_0419-small

He’s an amazing husband and father, and he’s also an amazing friend.  The best friend I’ve had since I was 15, really. Yes, doing the math, that’s about 27 years that I’ve had an incredible friend I get to see and hang out every single day.  I am so lucky.

DSC_0560-small

But the words of the song reminds me of what he’s always told me.  Go do anything you want to do.  You can do anything.  You can do anything you put your mind to.  Go try it.  If it fails, you know you’ve tried it, but you won’t know until then.

DSC_0501-small

He’s always “pushed” me in a gentle way, to get out there and try things.  Things I want to do.  Things I am not sure I should do, but wonder if I should.  Things I’ve always wanted to do but don’t give myself time to do.  New things I want to learn to do.  Things I want to do again.  Anything really.

He’s always there for me.  He’s the best cheerleader I’ve ever had.  He’s my ‘go do anything, you never know what will come out of it.’

DSC_0468-small

And this is something he had as a young boy, young man when I met him, and that I fell in love with, when I was a teenager.  It seems as if it was a whole life ago… funny.  And this is something I continue to fall in love with, when I pay attention and not rush through my days.  I feel so lucky.

DSC_0514-small

This week we celebrate 19 years of marriage, plus many other of beautiful friendships, amounting to much of my life.  OK, I’m not that young (or that old!), but by now I can say he’s been in my life most of my life, and I am so lucky for that.

DSC_0252-small

Happy anniversary my dearest and best friend and love of my life.  I’ll be there for you too.

4 thoughts on “I’ll be there

  1. julie February 6, 2013 / 11:44 pm

    Happy anniversary!!

  2. Amy Jo February 7, 2013 / 10:28 am

    Happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

