The Geography Fair

I planned our First Homeschool Geography Fair for last week.  It is so much easier now that Trackers lets us use their space for free, when we need it.  Thanks Molly and Tony!

Everybody picked a country and made a poster to share the information.  They could also bring food to share, make a diorama, dress up with typical clothing, anything they’d like to share was a go.

After much thinking, looking through books, talking about countries, looking through National Geographics, Siena decided to study Jamaica.

Siena liked Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce.  The Jamaican runner she saw on TV for the Olympics, who won for the second time in a row, the Olympic 100 meters. And Siena liked, especially the interview she did on TV.  It really stuck with her.

I love Siena’s paper work.  She’s so artistic, and creative.  I love that about her.

She also made this dwelling.

And Lucas…decided to study Brazil because the next Summer Olympics are going to be there, and because the next World Cup will be there as well.

I think his favorite part was to learn about the Amazon.  “The lungs of the World…”

I love Lucas’s drawing.

It was fun to do this project, but it was hard at the same time.  We had lots of things happening last week, and all just came together no matter how much we planned.  Studying two different countries was hard to do at the same time together with homeschooling and studying all the other stuff, getting ready for a craft fair, being sick, celebrating birthdays, and organizing this fair, having three meals on the table a day, besides being a parent.  You know what I mean, right?

But all of it, everything was worth it.  Look at what we were able to see that evening.

I loved seeing this display of India.  The map, the food, the Lego Taj Mahal, the flag… it took me back to last year… and I loved that.  And one of the first things I hear from Lucas and Siena after they looked at some of the posters when everyone was setting up, “Mamá, look at what we found, close your eyes…”  as they give me to try a snack from India… just that look at their faces, that smile, that feeling that they had found a treasure… I love it!  I love that our experience in India comes up in our days, every single day, in so many different ways.

Look at this physical map he made … I was so amazed at the beautiful work the kids did.

Home, dwellings dioramas.

Crafts.

Currency.

Original clothes from different countries.

We were all able to learn a little more, and witness the creativity thee kids have.

I really like that a lot of people wrote on the comments page I left at each of the kids table.  Something really fun to do at home later after the Fair.  Read the comments and remember what other people thought.

Fun to talk to the kids and learn what they liked about their project.  And to see them so proud of their work.  They should be!

Fifteen homeschool families participated in this First Geography Fair.  We had 27 kids participate with a poster.  I thought that was a great number to begin with this time.

It was really fun to see everyone sharing and so excited that evening.  I am so glad it worked out and that we made it happen.

I’d say it was a success!

 

Leave a Reply

