Recalculating : Sylvia Boorstein

Back in July I wrote (I have two wolves) about an interview I heard with Sylvia Boorstein via Meg, from Sew Liberated.

It still gives me food for thought. I love that.  When something has impacted me in a way that makes think and meditate, even after months later.

She talks about the GPS in the newer cars.  I am a very low tech person, and we are as a family.  We use it when we need it, and have what we need.  We have an old(er) car and actually have never been in a car with this feature, but I’ve heard about them.

She talks about when you are driving and take a wrong turn from what the GPS voice tells you, she says: “The voice says “Recalculating”, no matter how many wrong turns you take, it never gets annoyed, it always says it with the same voice.”

She suggests that we should try to do that more often in our life.  Even when we get mad, or someone does something to us we don’t appreciate.  We should think to ourselves “Recalculating” with that same calm tone of voice, and keep on going.

This is a challenge for me.  In the moment, I guess seems I need few seconds before I find myself thinking with the same, “normal” voice in my head “recalculating” in a calm way.  It’s an exercise I do when my kids push me a little, or ask me for something else one too many times, or there’s a mean comment made by someone… all parts of life I guess.  And this part of Sylvia Boorstein’s interview makes me laugh when I have time to play it through my head before answering or reacting in the moment. “Recalculating.”

Sylvia Boorstein says she always carries this poem by Chilean Poet Pablo Neruda.

Now we will count to twelve
and we will all keep still
for once on the face of the earth,
let’s not speak in any language;
let’s stop for a second,
and not move our arms so much.

It would be an exotic moment
without rush, without engines;
we would all be together
in a sudden strangeness.

Fishermen in the cold sea
would not harm whales
and the man gathering salt
would not look at his hurt hands.

Those who prepare green wars,
wars with gas, wars with fire,
victories with no survivors,
would put on clean clothes
and walk about with their brothers
in the shade, doing nothing.

What I want should not be confused
with total inactivity.

Life is what it is about…

If we were not so single-minded
about keeping our lives moving,
and for once could do nothing,
perhaps a huge silence
might interrupt this sadness
of never understanding ourselves
and of threatening ourselves with
death.

Now I’ll count up to twelve
and you keep quiet and I will go.

Have a beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

