Making : Sauerkraut

I am trying new recipes this year, and sauerkraut is one of them.

I used this book.  It’s great for step by step with great photos.

Cut the red cabbage in half.  I love the designs and patterns it has, and the colors… that’s why I decided to do it with red cabbage this time.

You cut thin slices, and then put salt and massage it with your hands until there’s liquid coming out of the cabbage.

You pack it really good and tight.  I used a small “potato smoosher” (as I call it.)

And the jar looks just as pretty!  Now we are still waiting.  I will report once we’ve tried it! Mmm… can’t wait.

4 thoughts on “Making : Sauerkraut

  1. Vinny Grette September 15, 2012 / 5:28 am

    Such a time-honored food – and so pretty! Also comes with health benefits – sounds good to me!

    • naturallyfundays : marcela September 15, 2012 / 11:18 am

      Hello Vinny Grette. We are excited to try this new recipe. I’ve made another one already. We are just waiting for now.

  2. GardenBooyah September 15, 2012 / 6:48 am

    I love red cabbage! Just seeing it in your post brings back memories of my mom making kraut on the farm growing up. Still can see the 5-gallon crock sitting in the basement next to the frig. Haven’t grown it, but maybe I’ll try next year.

    • naturallyfundays : marcela September 15, 2012 / 11:22 am

      Hello Garden Booyah. Oh good! I love the thought that I brought some good memories for you… my mom also used to make lots of fermented foods, and remember seeing them on the counter. I’m sure I’ll post about how these beautiful colors taste in few weeks from now! Can’t wait to try them all.

Leave a Reply

