Making : Dried elderberries

We went to pick elderberries the other day, because they were ready.

I’ve always bought it dry,in small amounts, and without a food dryer I wasn’t sure how I should keep them.

A friend freezes them.  So I did that.  A few bags in the freezer. I put them in a cookie sheet for a little bit, and then put them in a bag.  Just like blueberries.

And the rest, I died them in the oven.

I put them in two cookie sheets, at 170 degrees (F), for about 11-12 hours.

 

And had lots of stems like these at the end.

 

And now, we are ready for winter… at least with the elderberries ready!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

