Back to white again

We painted our bedroom when I was pregnant with Siena, over 10 years ago.  Back then we switched from our bedroom to our art and hanging out room.  It was white, and me being the one who cares the most about the colors and looks of things, I felt I needed color, so we painted it yellow with blue trims.

We’ve turned it into our bedroom again, since Lucas was born over 6 years ago.  And it needs a new paint.

This time, I’m needing white again.  Mark is pretty easy in these types of decisions, so it was all up to me.  And that’s what I did.

I painted it all white.  And added a ceiling fan.

And I love it!

And of course, I moved the furniture around while we had everything outside. I enjoy changing things around in my house, and this time was the perfect time to do it, while we cleaned everything and had to bring things back inside.  Perfect time to re-arrange.

Our bedroom being right next to the kitchen made the kitchen look even darker.  We’ve had these colors for 15 years, and we’ve talked about wanting more light and changing colors for a long time.  But it’s the energy and enthusiasm I didn’t have.

Until last week!  I was ready.  And because the kitchen has the hallway to the backyard, I had to do that too! I also painted the basement stairs… you know, they are right next to the kitchen…. And the bathroom is right there too but I got too tired to continue.  Maybe that’s next year.

Mark, Siena and Lucas went camping for a couple of nights and I stayed to paint.  I had to take everything out.  E V E R Y T H I N G! You know, all the dishes, and cups and containers and ‘kitchen stuff’ we’ve accumulated in the 17 years of living in this house. All those dishes in the way back that we haven’t used in years.  What a chore! Perfect time to donate some of them.

And I sanded.  So much paint.  So many layers.  The orange, green, yellow and red I had painted 15 years ago, on top of the white it was when we bought our house.  And under that first white?  Almost the same exact green I had painted years later!

So white it turned, slowly.

Not easy, but it finally did turn white.  Three coats in most places.  It was that dark.

Never mind the ceiling light falling…

Or the unfinished (for 11 years) back splash…

It is white.

And bright.  And I love it!  Worth every sore muscle and shoulders and hands. Everything worth it.

I haven’t out anything on the walls yet.  We have so many things we would like to see up there, and we’ve always have put them on the walls.  So now, I am enjoying a little wall empty-ness while I think what to put up first.

It just looks beautiful! Well, you know… I painted it so I might be a little skew on my opinion.

3 thoughts on “Back to white again

  1. Kelly August 9, 2012 / 8:31 am

    So beautiful! All clean, fresh and crisp. And you’ll love the lightness this winter. Amazing job!

    • naturallyfundays : marcela August 9, 2012 / 10:16 pm

      Hi Kelly. Thank you! I do love the new colors (3 different shades of white) even with the bright sun these days. I find myself staring at the kitchen and the bedroom at different times of the day, seeing how pretty everything looks (I think) as the sun passes by. They look so different and I love it. And it’s just the paint! I’m glad I got the energy to do it this summer. You should come see it! 🙂

  2. Amy Jo August 12, 2012 / 10:15 pm

    I can’t wait to see your new kitchen! Mark should bribe Paul with a few beers–I’m sure he’d be happy to come show Mark how to put in a tile backsplash!

Leave a Reply

