Remembering spring

I try.  I really try to remember it is spring.  The calendar says summer it’s almost here.  Just short of few days from Summer Solstice actually, but the past few days have been cold.  Flowers are trying to bloom and share their beauty, but then the rain comes and washes away their petals, their colors.  Then the sun comes back.  I think its trying.

So I’ve been taking photos to make sure we remember their beauty.  Even in those cloudy, rainy, gray Portland days, that takes us back as if it was the middle of February, when the calendar actually says it’s June.

Our clematis (and apple trees in the backyard) was one of the only plants I remember clearly when we looked at this house 17 years ago, when we decided to buy it.

It stil l blooms each spring/summer.

This is one of them.  The other one is coming with tons of flowers in just few weeks. I’m excited.

New grape starters, from some friends.  Wondering where we should plant them.  Can’t wait!

This fuchsia I bought many years ago, in a 4-inch pot.  Look at how full of flowers it is!

I love this lavender/purple color.

Remember these? Still beautiful after the petals are gone.  I might try to make something with these.  Maybe keeping the seeds, but also, Maya from MayaMade has this great print. I think I’d like to try some fabric with this nature stamp.

Oregon Grape.

And the blackberries are starting to bloom.  That would definitely be a sign that summer is coming, for me.

2 thoughts on “Remembering spring

  1. monica June 23, 2012 / 3:53 pm

    ¡¡ Que preciosas las flores !!es la cámara!!!!!

    • naturallyfundays : marcela June 23, 2012 / 4:58 pm

      Si Mama. La camara encuentro tambien es super biena. Me encanta! Pero quiero ver cuanto vale un zoom “mas mejor”… tan re-chori.

Leave a Reply

